14 weeks

2 Mar

Written Friday, March 1, 2013

Lemon fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as lemons this week, measuring about 3 1/2 inches and weighing 1 1/2 ounces.

How I’m Changing

Well, I’m finally showing a bit – not a lot, but just enough to completely justify comfy maternity pants.

I spent half the week sick with a bad cold and cough, and I have just felt physically miserable – sore and achy, congested and all around drained. I took a sick day Wednesday and was nearing a fever Friday night (99.5).

I have just wanted to sleep all week – likely because of the cold, rather than pregnancy. I took a couple naps and spent lots and lots of time in bed, when possible.

What I’m Eating

My regular appetite seems to have returned, but I haven’t been that typical-pregnant-lady hungry yet.

Cereal and milk, yogurt and fruit still are staples, and comfort foods still are the most desirable meals. Hydration is coming easier since the sickness has departed, too.

What I’m Thinking

I cannot wait for the much-talked-about energy that is supposed to come with the second trimester. It just seems like I went from being nauseous 24/7 to being legitimately sick 24/7. Unfair. I hope next week is better…

I started compiling some registry information, based on my findings in “Baby Bargains” and from lots of recommendations from friends, including my friend Andrea, who has twin girls. I can’t wait to solidify our picks and shop!

Lemon profile

  • Weight gained lost: 1 lb.

  • Workouts: Three– one 2.5-mile outdoor run; 1-mile outdoor walk; and one 30-min. snow-shoveling session.

  • Food aversions: None, really.

  • Food cravings: Nothing specific.

  • Baby items purchased: Still none.

  • Maternity items purchased: None.

  • Things missed: Margaritas.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Tuesday, March 12, 15 1/2 weeks.

Leave a comment