Registry research material

26 Feb

Christopher and I took a trip to Babies R Us a couple weeks ago – the closest store is in Rockford, about 40 miles away – and we were completely blown away by not only the sheer amount of baby gear on the market, but also the range of costs of all that stuff.

We were excited, but we admittedly were a bit overwhelmed, too.

What kind of crib do we get? Do we have to get two cribs? What about car seats and strollers? Do we want two strollers or one double stroller that will make us “those people,” who take up limited crowd space at festivals, fairs and farmers markets? Where do we even register for all this stuff?

Enter: “Baby Bargains.”

20130226_185333

My friend Amy said it was absolutely necessary that we get this book and use it as a guide for our registry and other baby-related shopping. I trust her.

Amy also sent me her registry spreadsheet, complete with notes from two of her friends, who became parents before she did, to help us stay organized and in control amidst all. the. baby. stuff.

The book includes reviews of tons of baby gear – cribs, car seats, strollers, etc. – as well as comparison charts and “good-better-best” recommendations. It reveals the best deals and the biggest wastes of money, too.

Christopher and I should have no problem putting together a registry (even for two babies) that reflects the highest-quality, most practical items for the best prices that fit our soon-to-be lifestyle as parents of twins.

(Side note: I know it’s pretty common for people not to shop off parents’ registries because they want to buy the cute and fun gifts, but I really hope our family and friends consult ours. We will have spent a lot of time crafting our registry, and we have a lot of gear to get for two babies.)

I can’t wait to crack into the book; in fact, I already skimmed the first several pages. I hope to do a more comprehensive review of the book and share some thoughts on our registry later.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some reading to do.

3 Responses to “Registry research material”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd February 26, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    I will love looking at the book the next time I come for visit.

  2. Grandma Heimerman February 26, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    I am excited to include your registry in your shower invitations.

    • kaylabee18 March 26, 2013 at 9:51 am #

      Thanks. We’ll be sending it along to you very soon. Do you know when you want to get invites out? Probably sometime in late April, I would assume…

Leave a Reply

