Whole30 Recap – Week 2 and Meal Plan – Week 3

24 Jan

We are about halfway through our Whole30 journey!

Week 2 was all about settling into our new routine, which by this point is very much a routine. We haven’t hit the stereotypical rut of eggs for breakfast every morning or protein + vegetable + potato for dinner every night. But we do miss some of our old convenience foods.

img_20170119_181608_868

Here’s how Week 2 shaped up for us:

  • We’re still snacking. We both do better, mentally and physically, if we eat a little something every few hours.
  • I’m still drinking 88 to 96 ounces of water, which I believe helps curb my hunger and desire to snack. I slacked a little on the weekend, with just 64 ounces, and I felt more hungry that day.
  • My emotions were very fragile this week. Monday morning, Christopher took the girls to Wee Care at the Y; the staff thought she had a fever. That evening, I brought them back, and the staff sent us home because their policy states children must be fever-free for 24 hours before they may return to Wee Care. I just sobbed–flat-out sobbed–for a good 5 minutes in the parking lot, and then much of the drive home.Was that Whole30 talking? Tuesday afternoon, the girls were full-blown sick–coughing badly and frequently–and I panicked and broke down in tears that I might again miss my workout. Christopher came home for an hour so I could teach my yoga class. I would have been a mess without it. And I know I would have emotionally eaten to make myself feel better.
  • I successfully avoided major temptations Tuesday. It was the pastor’s birthday (I work at a church) First thing in the morning, I brought him a hazelnut latte, and I got myself an Americano. I would have killed for a latte (frothy milk is life!) and a scone. Later that morning, someone brought cupcakes from the local cake shop, and I passed on them multiple times. I would have killed for one of those, too. And then regretted the sugar crash later.
  • I’m still figuring out how much to eat and when to eat it when it comes to more intense workouts. I got very lightheaded and nauseous at the end of our team workout Wednesday.
  • We successfully ate out for lunch Saturday. We went to IKEA and Woodfield Mall. We did a little research and found that Macy’s offers a build-your-own salad bar in their Marketplace. But we found no salad bar; Macy’s only has that on weekdays. We thought our only other option was Subway, otherwise we would have had to pick off cheese and other noncompliant items from salads at nicer restaurants. But we landed at Kin Fork, a barbeque/steakhouse-type restaurant, where we decided we would order naked burgers and veggie sides. We both had an 8-ounce burger grilled and wrapped in lettuce with onions for me and grilled jalapenos for Chris; I had broccolini on the side, and Chris had Brussels sprouts with balsamic glaze. We now know why they suggest just abstaining from eating out, but we also learned it is do-able. It was tasty and, because we were hangry and impatient, satisfying, but at the same time, it was not nearly as fulfilling as a typical restaurant experience.

img_20170116_115613_951

Recipe wins from last week:

(Italics denote the recipe is from the Whole30 book.)

img_20170118_120041_353
And here’s our meal plan for Week 3:

 

Breakfasts

Lunches

Dinners

(Italics denote the recipe is from the Whole30 book.)

We are 51 percent of the way through this little experiment! How are you feeling?

One Response to “Whole30 Recap – Week 2 and Meal Plan – Week 3”

  1. Galen Gremminger May 23, 2017 at 1:37 pm #

    I do agree with all the ideas you’ve introduced on your post.They’re really convincing and will definitely work. Still,the posts are too quick for newbies. May just you pleaseextend them a bit from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

