Whole30 Recap – Week 1 and Meal Plan – Week 2

16 Jan

Whole30 Week 1 is a wrap!

Week 1 was all about adjustment: adjusting to a strict diet, adjusting to an increased consumption of meat, adjusting to a decreased consumption of sugar, adjusting to being hungry, adjusting to thinking about why we’re eating what and when we’re eating it.

I don’t know that I’ve ever thought so much about food in my life…

First, some confessions:

  • We ate a couple of non-compliant foodstuffs: nuts roasted in peanut oil, breakfast sausage with sugar, and bacon cured in sugar. My rationale was that a) we were not eating those non-compliant foods in any sort of quantity and b) we are not able to find 100% compliant foods as easily and within our budget in our area, so we were going to do the best we could with what was available, if not already in our pantry and refrigerator.
  • We snacked. A lot. And we snacked after dinner, before bed, a few times. We didn’t re-create treats with compliant ingredients, as is a big-time no-no on the program. But we did eat a snack.

IMG_20170115_185057.jpg

A day of eats: sweet potato, Brussels sprouts and sausage breakfast casserole; pear and roasted nuts; sweet potato and cauliflower chili; raw nuts; apple-pecan spiced chicken with roasted asparagus; hard-boiled egg

 

And now some thoughts:

  • I’m drinking 88 to 96 ounces of water, which I believe helps curb my hunger and desire to snack.
  • I need to stay busy, especially when the girls are napping in the afternoon, so I don’t mindlessly eat (even if I am making wise choices). We watched a lot of documentaries after dinner this week, and we found that intellectual stimulation helpful in curbing our desire to snack, too.
  • We didn’t get the “carb flu” as much as we expected. I felt a little lightheaded and nauseous on Day 2, but I think I was truly hungry, because I ate breakfast and felt infinitely better.
  • We also didn’t experience the “kill all the things” rage as suggested by the Whole30 timeline. We were irritable or quicker to anger, but I think that has little to do with the diet and more to do with real-life frustrations.
  • Christopher experienced some of the fatigue and malaise that comes with the end of Week 1. That said, we’re both sleeping much, much better than before. We’re not waking up feeling incredibly refreshed, but we’re falling asleep faster, and sleeping more deeply than before.
  • I didn’t have any major or prolonged cravings, except for peanut butter and graham crackers Wednesday and beer and chocolate over the weekend. The craving Wednesday was very fleeting, as was the craving over the weekend, honestly. I think my willpower is very strong. Christopher’s is, too. I’m so proud of how well he’s doing and how seriously he’s taking this program.
  • We both cheated and weighed ourselves this week. We both were down 6 pounds.

IMG_20170109_202533.jpg

Recipe wins from last week:
15994539_10104006916938398_8164670154711076544_o

And here’s our meal plan for Week 2:

Breakfasts

Lunch

Dinner

(Italics denote the recipe is from the Whole30 book.)

How are you doing? Are you already experiencing some non-scale changes to your life?

Leave a Reply

