I’m doing the Whole30

3 Jan

doing-the-w30-fb-cover

I need a reset.

I eat pretty clean most of the time, but naturally, I slack off on clean eating and workouts after big races and, like most people, around the holidays.

I felt like I was going through the motions: planning healthy meals, going to the gym, tracking everything in MyFitnessPal. I let it all slip the week leading up to Christmas and now the week in between Christmas and New Year’s.

And I’m OK with that. I believe we all need short periods of time away from the rigid tracking, the strict workouts, and even the semi-clean meals.

But I need a reset. I need to tame my sugar monster and my snack dragon. I need to amp up my workouts again. I need to be better about drinking enough water.

I want to reinvent my relationship with food. I want to clear up my skin. I want to get rid of my somewhat chronic (of late) bloating.

The Whole30 is the answer.

What is it?

The Whole30 is a 30-day clean-eating plan designed to clean up your diet and reset your cravings by cutting out foods that might be having a negative impact on your health: sugar, grains, legumes, dairy, and alcohol.

So what can you eat?

Lots and lots of protein, vegetables, and (healthy) fat. And coffee. Black coffee is allowed. (Halle-freakin’-lujah!)

And what can’t you eat?

No sugar, not even the natural stuff, and especially, no artificial sweeteners. No grains, not even the ancient ones. No beans or legumes, which means no peanuts, peanut butter, or chickpeas. No soy either. No dairy. No alcohol. No processed foods.

 

 

The Whole30 has some legit benefits–that come from eliminating, then carefully reintroducing foods that commonly cause a lot of health problems and from rebuilding your relationship with food. Consider these:

Weight loss, fewer headaches, fewer digestive problems, clearer skin, more energy, better workouts, improved sleep, fewer cravings, and a better relationship with food (i.e. more knowledge of the foods that make us feel like crap).

The Whole30 prohibits weighing yourself and tracking your calories. Its focus is on feeling good–like really, truly good–from the inside out.

doing-the-w30-ig

Ordinarily, I am not one to advocate for diets (or even whole lifestyles) that completely eliminate entire food groups (i.e. grains, dairy), unless it is for a specific health reason (e.g. Celiac disease, lactose intolerance). But I am fine with cleanses that last for a specific and reasonable amount of time (i.e. 30 days) and are done correctly — no shakes or supplements, just real food, quality meals, in satisfying quantities.

My friend Mindy and I, along with our incredible group at Healthy Living Blogs, are hosting a Whole30 that runs from Jan. 9 to Feb. 7.

You’ve got just enough time to prepare, and you’ll wrap up just before Valentine’s Day, so you can celebrate without feeling restricted.

We hope you’ll join us. We’ll have a private Facebook group, where participants can check in as frequently or infrequently as desired, share recipes and meal ideas, share struggles and non-scale victories, ask questions, and above all, find support and accountability. We also have a hashtag, #hlbwhole30, that you can use on social media, to help us all stick together.

Join me?

Leave a Reply

