Back on Track – Week 2

1 Feb

Another decent week on the books!

  • Exercise:
    • Run three times a week, in “training” for the Yeti Trail Series. I ran 4.5 miles Tuesday, 6 on Thursday, and 6 again (outside this time) on Saturday. My cold/sinus infection reared its ugly head late this past week, so I felt pretty miserable Thursday and Saturday.
    • Strength train via BodyPump two times a week. Pumped twice this week!
    • Practice yoga once a week. I squeezed it in while the girls napped Friday.
  • Nutrition:
    • Drink a concoction of apple cider vinegar and lemon water every morning. Check! I don’t think I’m going to continue this, as I don’t really see or feel any marked benefits from it.
    • Eat a vegetable at breakfast every day. Check! Again, still not as easy as I thought. I rotated between green smoothies and a “hidden greens” chocolate oatmeal, and I made high-protein zucchini waffles for a special breakfast Friday.
    • Have higher-protein snacks in between meals; try to have a fruit or vegetable with at least one snack every day. I had a lot of fruit this week, in addition to nuts and cheese. I had a bowl of cereal a few times, too, as well as crackers, both usually as my before-bed snacks.
    • Stick to higher-protein, lower-carb lunches and dinners. Check!
    • Have dessert only once a week. I slipped a little this week: I wasn’t feeling well later in the week, so I treated myself to an oatmeal-chocolate chip cookie Friday night and again Saturday night. Dessert this weekend was creme brulee, which was fantastic and totally worth the wait. My sweet tooth, though, seemed to act up on account of being under the weather.

Overall, I’d say I did pretty well again–another solid B+ with about a B+ effort.

A few highlights from last week:

  • Pearl couscous soup: This soup was great to have on hand for lunches this past week. Tasty and filling, thanks to plenty of veggies, fiber-full red beans, and whole wheat pearl couscous. It clocked in at only 174 calories per 1 1/2 cups, with just 10g protein.
  • Asian chopped salad with sesame vinaigrette: This salad was a beast! It was ginormous and required lots of chewing because of the hearty red cabbage, crisp snap peas, and sweet peppers and carrots. We added chicken on top for an extra protein boost, and mandarin oranges for sweetness, so it came in at 357 calories, with 23g protein.
  • Hidden greens chocolate oatmeal: Real talk: Zucchini and oatmeal go together very, very well. Think bread, muffins, even baked oatmeal. But zucchini did not jibe as well with regular stovetop-cooked oats. The texture, while tolerable, was not appealing. I was glad to get my greens in a pretty significant amount first thing in the morning, so I might make these again, but next time, I’ll “shred” the zucchini more finely in the food processor.
  • High-protein zucchini waffles: These were wonderful–especially warm with a good 2 Tbsp of real maple syrup. They reminded me of zucchini bread in flavor, but had more density. They clocked in at 421 calories, with 21g protein. Maple syrup adds another 100 calories. It’s a hefty breakfast, but it’s got plenty of staying power.
  • Beef taco bowls: A low-carb twist on the typical burrito or taco bowl, these were pretty good, more so, once you get past the strange texture of sauteed cabbage and carrots in your taco meat. We served these with a sprinkling of cheese and 1 ounce of blue corn tortilla chips; I had mine with a blob of guacamole, too. Stats: 446 calories, 31g protein.
  • Chicken fajitas: These were fan-freakin’-tastic! I served them for dinner with Christopher’s parents, and they went over very, very well. The recipe is so simple: Saute a boatload of seasoned peppers, onions, and mushrooms, then sear some seasoned chicken, and combine. We served them with small soft corn tortillas and guacamole. I didn’t even miss the rice or beans!

Some other observations:

  • I still can’t kick my TV-watching snack habit. At least most days, I made decent choices, or stuck to one serving of my snack.
  • If it’s in the house, it’s in my mouth. The mini Reese’s peanut butter cups and Hersey’s Kisses are gone. We munched on those Saturday night and Sunday.
  • I weighed in at 138.6 last Monday and at 138 this morning.

 

Here’s the plan for this week:

  • Roman-style chicken
  • Lasagna
  • Stuffed pepper soup

Here’s to Week 3!

4 Responses to “Back on Track – Week 2”

  1. jodikayedwards February 1, 2016 at 1:36 pm #

    I love the self analysis I need to start doing that on a deeper level 🙂 That salad sounds so good!
    http://lifestylefinesse.com/edit/
    2016 Goals: https://youtu.be/OHbXCpY_FCg

    • kaylabee18 February 2, 2016 at 9:22 am #

      Thanks. The salad was incredible. Give it a try!

  2. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. February 1, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    I have the same issue with junk food in the house. I just can’t stop eating if it’s readily available!

    • kaylabee18 February 2, 2016 at 9:22 am #

      It’s terrible. I’ve made MAJOR progress in resisting the temptation of the candy drawer(s) at work. But I cannot control myself if there’s anything remotely available at home. I’ve got cookies stashed away in the freezer for *those days* and that’s worked really well…but candy — you can’t freeze that!

Leave a Reply

