Bayshore Marathon – Week 11

7 Apr

I’m a couple days late to the posting game, but I ran a killer 16-miler after another solid week of training. Check it out!

  • Monday: Yoga – 55 min. Completed after the girls were asleep.

I went back to Bob Harper’s Yoga for the Warrior, and I felt really good, really strong, except I almost face-planted during bird of paradise and could not fully push myself into wheel.

IMG_20150331_064928

  • Tuesday: 4-mile run – 4.13 miles, 38:46/9:24 pace. Completed before work, about 6 a.m.

This was a pretty speedy, albeit pretty hard run. It was the first early-morning run in a while, so as much as I hated being aboard the strugglebus, I loved seeing the sun come up.

IMG_20150401_175611

  • Wednesday: Zumba 3.4-mile walk – 1:15:38, 22:14 pace. Completed late afternoon with the girls in the stroller.

I skipped dancing in favor of some walking through the park in the sunny (although windy), near-80-degree weather. I also broke in my new running shoes.

  • Thursday: 8-mile run – 8.02 miles, 1:19:39, 9:56 pace. Completed while the girls took their afternoon nap, about 12:30 p.m.

I maintained a good pace throughout, although I really struggled with side stitches and labored breathing early on. It had rained in the early-morning hours, so it was mild and humid by the afternoon. I walked briefly several times in the second half of the run to get my breathing under control, and still managed to maintain an under-10:00-per-mile pace – better than last week with the breathing troubles and an additional mile.

  • Friday: rest

Ahh. Sweet, glorious rest day!

IMG_20150404_160000

  • Saturday: 16-mile run – 16.21 miles, 2:48:36, 10:24 pace. Completed while the girls took their afternoon nap, about 12:45 p.m.

I’ve only trained for one other marathon, so I’ve only run longer than 13 miles a handful of times, but I’m calling this run one of my best long runs ever.

I felt so dang comfortable for the vast majority of the run. I felt confident, strong, fast even. I felt happy, proud.

I ran almost 11.5 miles by myself, then ran another 4.5 miles with Christopher, who pushed the girls in the stroller.

For the first leg, I ran all of the local trails – south from home to the trail, then east through Sinnissippi Park and Hoover Park and back, then west past the Dillon Home, across the Sinnissippi Dam and along the Hennepin Canal almost to the city limits of Rock Falls. It’s such a challenging route because of the terrain; there are some significant hills in Sinnissippi Park, and there is some rough, uneven pavement along the canal. I really feel like the rugged, varied course is good training for me, even though the Bayshore Marathon is a relatively flat and fast course.

For the second leg, we ran the roads in our neighborhood.

My splits tell an interesting story:

Miles 1-5 – 9:09, 9:08, 9:24, 9:46, 9:59 (Slow down, girl!)

Mile 6-10 – 11:01, 9:40, 10:33, 9:33, 10:53

Miles 11-15 – 11:20, 10:39, 10:26, 11:04, 12:44

Mile 16 – 11:37

Basically, I need to train myself to slowtheheckdown during the first 5 miles of my long runs, so I can run a bit faster later and for longer. Sounds easier said than done…

On the docket for this week:

  • Yesterday – 4-mile run
  • Today – yoga
  • Wednesday – Zumba
  • Thursday – 8-mile run
  • Friday – Body Pump?
  • Saturday – 12-mile run
  • Sunday – rest
Leave a Reply

