Bayshore Marathon training – Week 9

23 Mar

The theme of this week? Speed! I somehow managed to flat out kill my runs this week. I pulled off an average pace of less than 10 minutes for a total of 20 miles.

  • Monday: Yoga – 45 min. Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown Level 1. Completed after the girls were asleep.

I went back to the Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown video, and I felt really strong. I hardly made any modifications or took any breaks, really only during chaturanga push-ups. I felt especially awesome during the “rolling Ts,” or alternating side planks; I never had to come down onto my knees.

IMG_20150316_162307Bonus: 2.59-mile walk – 43:23/16:45 pace. Completed with the girls in the stroller and Dexter on the leash, about 3:30 p.m.

  • Tuesday: 3-mile run – 3.12 miles, 27:59/8:58 pace. Completed while the girls took their afternoon nap, about 1:30 p.m.

I did not intend for this to be a lightning-fast run; in fact, I planned for it to be a just-get-the-miles-in run.

IMG_20150317_140047I felt awful. This cold/sinus bug had me coughing much of the morning and all day the day before, so my throat was raw, my head hurt, and my chest felt heavy and tight.

I crossed the half-mile mark at 4:22, and I felt alright. I hit the mile mark at 8:52, and I still felt alright. I hit the 2-mile mark at 17:43 (8:51 split). I struggled most in the third mile (9:11 split). My chest felt so tight, like it was small and incapable of expanding for a truly deep, cleansing, necessary breath. I never stopped, though; Dexter even lagged alongside/behind me a bit.

  • Wednesday: Zumba – 45 min. Class at the Y.

Nothing special to report here.

  • Thursday: 7-mile run – 7.25 miles, 1:11:56, 9:55 pace. Completed while the girls took their afternoon nap, about 12:30 p.m.

As of this writing, now four days removed from this run, it’s but a faint memory. But it’s a good faint memory. Look at that time!

IMG_20150319_141000I took the roads south, hit the trail through Sinnissippi Park and Hoover Park, then the roads through the neighborhood over there. I turned around, walked for maybe 60 seconds, then got after it.

My splits are pretty sweet: 9:39, 9:31, 9:58, 10:21, 10:12, 10:01, and 9:57.

  • Friday: Body Pump – 45 min. Class at the Y.

I decided that, since only 10 miles were on the docket for the next day, I would get my butt to 6 a.m. Body Pump. I know how beneficial it is to incorporate strength training into marathon training, so I was glad to get in another class.

We did the biceps and triceps tracks instead of the chest track, which was a nice change of pace and ensured my “wings” did not ache as badly on my run the next day. We still did the squat and lunge tracks, although they did not burn as badly as they previously have, which meant my legs weren’t as sore for my run the next day, either.

  • Saturday: 10-mile run – 10.15 miles, 1:37:27, 9:36 pace. Completed while the girls took their afternoon nap, about 1:15 p.m., then with Christopher, the girls, after they woke up, and Dexter.

Holy moley. I still cannot believe this run actually happened. A 9:36 average pace? Who is running these miles?

IMG_20150321_150644It was a pretty nice afternoon for a run, although it was windy again. I ran the first 6 miles, then Christopher and the girls and Dexter joined me for another 4 miles. I maintained a fabulous pace for the first leg, and Christopher set a pretty swift pace for the second leg.

For the first leg, I again took to the local trails, but this time, I went west toward the Dillon Home, across the Sinnissippi Dam to Rock Falls, and south along the Hennepin Canal before I turned back for home. For the second leg, we did the roads in our neighborhood.

Miles 1-3 were impressively fast at 8:57, 8:43, and 9:14. Miles 4-6 were a bit more of my typical pace at 10:15, 10:19, and 9:54. Miles 7-10 felt incredibly difficult; Christopher was bookin’ it (pushing the stroller), and I was lagging behind (running with the dog), struggling to get my breathing under control and really just fighting to keep up. But miles 7-10 were, again, impressively fast, especially given the point in the long run, at 9:19, 9:42, 9:56, and 10:01.

And for the cherry on top? We finished that last 15 hundredths of a mile at 8:20 pace.

IMG_20150321_161026 The actual cherry on top. #shamrockshake

I am contemplating a half marathon in West Bend on April 26. I would like to run at least one big race before the marathon, and I would love to set a new PR. My current best is 2:26, or 11:10 per mile. If I can maintain a 10-minute-per-mile pace, then I could set an epic PR, somewhere in the neighborhood of 2:11. That would be a 15-minute improvement. I think it is totally possibly, but I think Christopher might have to pace me.

If anything, this 10-miler taught me reminded me that I can do epic things, even on the verge of hyperventilating, even on the verge of tears of frustration and inadequacy; I just have to keep going, one foot in front of the other, breathe in, breathe out. I have to be comfortable with being uncomfortable.

What is it they say? Pain is temporary. Pride is forever.

On the docket for this week:

  • Today – yoga
  • Tuesday – 3-mile run
  • Wednesday – Zumba
  • Thursday – 7-mile run
  • Friday – Body Pump
  • Saturday – 10-mile run
  • Sunday – rest
4 Responses to “Bayshore Marathon training – Week 9”

  1. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. March 23, 2015 at 9:58 pm #

    FRIEND! YOU ARE KILLING IT.

    • kaylabee18 March 24, 2015 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks, love. Seriously, though, who am I?! I guess I’m just trying to keep up with you. 😉

  2. Heather March 26, 2015 at 6:06 am #

    What a great long run to experience!! And a great week – way to get sub 10 all the way through. I remember that feeling of running faster/harder than I ever thought I could and realizing that training is GOOD for becoming better.

    Can’t wait to see you set that half mary PR this year 🙂 I’m loving following along your training (even if im not always good about coming over to the comments section to tell you!) keep it up.

    xo

    • kaylabee18 May 4, 2015 at 8:14 am #

      Thanks, Heather. Love knowing you’re reading and following along. Hugs, friend!

Leave a Reply

