Bayshore Marathon training – Week 7

8 Mar

Whew, the miles are really starting to add up!

This week went a little something like this:

  • Monday: Yoga – 60 min. This video. Completed after the girls were asleep.

Mindy mentioned Bob Harper’s Yoga for the Warrior a few times over the years, and I found a bootleg copy on YouTube this week.

This workout is similar in approach to Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown. I felt prepared and relatively confident, although I struggled with downward-dog shoulder presses, chaturanga pushups, and bird of paradise, which never has been a pose in my practice.

Going forward, I probably will alternate between Yoga Meltdown and Yoga for the Warrior.

IMG_20150303_164927

  • Tuesday: 3-mile run – 28:10/9:23 pace. Completed after a marathon afternoon of work, about 4:30 p.m.

This run just got pushed back all day. I couldn’t do it in the morning, before work, because I failed to set my alarm. I couldn’t do it in the afternoon, while the girls took their nap, because Christopher and I had to shoot a food tutorial video for the paper, which involved making a double-crust, four-berry pie from scratch; and I had to make dinner for that night. I finally got around to it at about 4:30 p.m.

I set out to do a speedy 3 miles. I started at 5.9 mph and just cranked the speed every half-mile or so until I reached 7 mph. I struggled a bit with a side stitch, but I took deep breaths and relaxed my arms and shoulders, otherwise I felt awesome.

  • Wednesday: Zumba – 45 min. Class at the Y.

The instructor was out again, so the substitute instructor did many of the same songs, although she tossed in a few new-to-me routines. She goofed up a few times, thus I goofed up a few many times. I felt out of sync and crowded by the people around me, so I got a less sweaty workout than usual.

IMG_20150305_133021

  • Thursday: 6-mile run – 1:01:34, 10:16 pace. Treadmill. Completed while the girls took their afternoon nap, about 12:30 p.m.

I found a nice 6.5-ish-mile treadmill interval run on Pinterest, and I modified it to my skill level, bringing the top speed down from 6.9 mph to 6.4 mph.

Here’s what I did:

Distance – Speed (mph)

0-1 – 5.6
1-1.5 – 5.9
1.5-2 – 6.4, 6.3 (0.25 mi each)
2-2.5 – 5.9
2.5-3 – 6.4, 6.3
3-3.1 – 3
3.1-3.5 – 5.9
3.5-4 – 6.4, 6.3
4-4.1 – 4
4.1-4.5 – 5.9
4.5-5 – 6.4, 6.3
5-5.1 – 4
5.1-5.5 – 5.9
5.5-6 – 6.4, 6.5

I really felt strong throughout this run, and I definitely looked the part afterward.

  • Friday: Body Pump – 45 min. Class at the Y.

This was only the second time I’ve done the newest release, so the sequence of the moves and the cadence of the reps still is new to me, and thus, my muscles still fatigue quite easily. The squat/lunge track, and even the chest track, is so tough, and they leave those muscle groups very, very sore; I am contemplating skipping the class in favor of a rest day before my long runs.

  • Saturday: 12-mile run – 2:10:19, 10:52 pace. Outside; 40-ish degrees, sunny and windy. Completed while the girls took their afternoon nap, about 12:30 p.m.

Ultimately, this run was quite a treat. That’s not to say it wasn’t challenging, or wasn’t without its struggles, or was easy, by any means.

I ran outside for the first time in weeks. It was mild, sunny, and windy; the snow was melting, and the sidewalks were veritable moats.

I ran the first 7.5 miles with Christopher and Dexter, and we averaged less than 10-minute miles for the first 4 miles, then 10:30-11-minute miles for the last 3.5 miles. We never stopped to walk, only for traffic, but we had to dodge flooded sidewalks and run through melting snow and mud.

I stopped at home to grab a sip of water and a few Honey Stingers and take a hit of my inhaler, then I ran the last 4.5 miles with my dad, who was in town this weekend, and we averaged about 12-minute miles. We talked much of the run, so my breathing got a little off, and we stopped to walk a few times. We also had to dodge flooded sidewalks, as we took the same route as Christopher and I did for the first part of our run.

My biggest struggle, honestly, was maintaining my speed through the messy sidewalk and road conditions. Flooded sidewalks and muddy shoulders means wet shoes and socks, which means rubbing and chafing, which leads to blisters and raw skin. My feet still hurt the worst of anything today.

I really need to master my fueling and hydration over the next few runs. I haven’t carried water on a run yet, and I probably will have to during next weekend’s long run. I also haven’t been super consistent with when I nosh on my Honey Stingers and how many I eat, so I need to get that on lock pretty soon.

I continue to be very grateful for things or people that make my long runs seem not so long. In previous weeks, it was breaking the run up into two or three shorter runs. This week, it was breaking it up into two shorter runs and running with other people (and the dog!). Next week should be similar, although I wish I was running a true half marathon with a finish line and a medal…

On the docket for this week:

  • Tomorrow – yoga
  • Tuesday – 3-mile run
  • Wednesday – Zumba
  • Thursday – 6-mile run
  • Friday – Body Pump
  • Saturday – 13-mile run
  • Sunday – rest
2 Responses to “Bayshore Marathon training – Week 7”

  1. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. March 8, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

    Oh, I like that 6 mile workout. I might need to copy for this week. Nice work on the 12! I was facing the same battle with the puddles – I wore smartwool socks which were a lifesaver because I avoided the blisters. Running alone is definitely getting to be a mental struggle. More on all of this on my recap tomorrow, though.

    • kaylabee18 March 9, 2015 at 10:12 am #

      Yes, definitely do it. It’s a good one, for sure.

      Running definitely is a mental struggle at any distances of about 10 or more miles, in my opinion. Finding ways to break it up or seem shorter/less daunting are going to be key.

Leave a Reply

