Bayshore Marathon training – Week 6

1 Mar

 

  • Monday: yoga – 35 min. Completed after the girls were asleep.

Another Monday-night yoga session with Jillian Michaels, another good workout…although another bout of me thinking, ‘It’s time to find a new yoga workout.’

Any suggestions for anything available online (e.g. YouTube)?

  • Tuesday: 3-mile run – 29:25/9:48 pace. Treadmill. Completed before work, about 6 a.m.

I forgot to take my inhaler before my run, so I struggled a bit with shortness of breath. But I warmed up  at 5.7 mph, then did 2 miles of intervals, and then cooled down around 6 mph.

I’ve been doing a variation on this interval pattern the last couple of weeks:

Distance – Speed (mph)

0-0.1 – 6
0.1-0.2 – 6.2
0.2-0.3 – 6.4
0.3-0.4 – 6.2
0.4-0.5 – 6

0.5-0.6 – 6.2
0.6-0.7 – 6.4
0.7-0.8 – 6.6
0.8-0.9 – 6.4
0.9-1 – 6.6

Repeat

I absolutely swear by intervals – at least right now – for challenging me speed-wise, and for making my runs go by so quickly.

  • Wednesday: Zumba – 45 min. Class at the Y.

Another good, sweaty class.

  • Thursday: 5-mile run – 52:20/10:28 pace. Treadmill. Completed before work, about 5:45 a.m.

I don’t remember much about this run, but I assume I warmed up, did some intervals, then cooled down.

  • Friday: Body Pump 7-mile run – 70:33/10:05 pace. Treadmill. Completed while the girls were down for their afternoon nap, about 12:

The weather was cold frigid with a side of windy, and the meal plan called for Mexican at a favorite local restaurant, so I moved my run up from Saturday to Friday, and I did all of it on the treadmill at the gym.

I broke it into two runs – a 5-miler and a 2-miler. I did a variation on my usual interval pattern for the 5-miler, took a bathroom break, then did another round of intervals for the 2-miler.

I did the 5 miles in 50:15 (10:03 pace) and the 2 miles in 20:18 (10:09 pace). I was flying. I felt really good. And I could not wait to reward myself with a margarita.

Oh, I forgot to mention that I could not get Pandora to connect on the wifi at the gym, so I did my entire run without music. Um, yeah.

  • Saturday: 7-mile run rest

 

  • Today: rest Lateral elliptical trainer – 30 min. + 1-mile run – 8:27. Completed while the girls were down for their afternoon nap, about 1 p.m.

Christopher took the dog for a run outside, so I went to the gym for some cross training when he got back home.

I did 30 minutes on the lateral elliptical trainer – you move in a side-to-side ellipse, rather than a front-to-back ellipse – shifting between three workout modes: normal (narrow, low resistance), thigh toner (wide, low resistance), and quad power (wide, medium resistance).

I opted to tack on a quick mile on the treadmill. I was curious how fast I could bust out a mile, so I started at 7 mph and worked my way up to 8 mph.

Here’s what’s on tap for this week:

  • Tomorrow – yoga
  • Tuesday – 3-mile run
  • Wednesday – Zumba
  • Thursday – 6-mile run
  • Friday – Body Pump
  • Saturday – 12-mile run
  • Sunday – rest

Temperatures could reach almost 40 by the weekend. I am pumped.

2 Responses to “Bayshore Marathon training – Week 6”

  1. Heather March 2, 2015 at 7:48 pm #

    I am OBSESSED with this yoga YouTube station – https://www.youtube.com/user/EkhartYoga
    and
    https://www.youtube.com/user/yogatic

    I do the yoga for runners video LOTS and I’ve tried several others, too. It’s my go-to for hotel room yoga on the iPad when I’m traveling and living room yoga, too.

    • kaylabee18 March 9, 2015 at 10:14 am #

      I’ll check it out tonight, Heather. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

