Bayshore Marathon training – Week 3

8 Feb

The theme of this week? Sick, sick, sick. First, Christopher was sick the end of last week, then the girls were sick – and sicker (they had ear infections) – and then, I was sick. Christopher and the girls are almost back to normal, while I’m straggling a bit.

I basically threw my training plan out the window so I could fight off this cold in time to still do my long run for the week.

  • Monday – yoga shoveling snow – 50 min.

I had planned to do some at-home yoga, but I shoveled snow for 50 minutes and called it my workout.

  • Tuesday – sick day.
  • Wednesday – sick day.
  • Thursday – sick day.
  • Friday – sick day.
  • Saturday – 5-mile run – 5 miles, 52:27/10:29 pace. Treadmill. Completed mid-morning.

Just like last week, I did not think I had this run in me. I was still feeling under the weather, but I was itching to work out again and get back on track.

We all made our triumphant return to the YMCA, and while the girls played in Wee Care, Christopher and I hit the treadmill.

I started out nice and easy at 5 mph and slowly worked my way up to 5.3, 5.6, and 5.9, then I played around with speed for the last mile or so, staying faster than 6 mph. I felt remarkably awesome. My body felt good, and my breathing felt comfortable.

I averaged 10:29 per mile, which is amazing, considering I hadn’t run in a week, I felt a little rough around the edges, and I ran on the ol’ ‘mill. Huzzah!

  • Sunday – rest shoveling snow – 40 min.

It finally warmed up enough to melt a lot of the residual snow on the roads and in driveways and on sidewalks, so I capitalized on it and cleaned up our sidewalk and driveway and cleared a better, more accessible curbside route for the mailman.

Here’s what’s on tap for this week:

  • Tomorrow – yoga
  • Tuesday – 3-mile run
  • Wednesday – Zumba
  • Thursday – 4-mile run
  • Friday – Body Pump
  • Saturday – 9-mile run
  • Sunday – rest

Here’s to feeling better!

2 Responses to “Bayshore Marathon training – Week 3”

  1. Sportcentral February 8, 2015 at 3:14 pm #

    Sometimes body just needs to rest, but i hate when it happens and i cant follow my training plan… Hope feeling fine now!

    • kaylabee18 February 11, 2015 at 1:10 pm #

      Thanks. I’m much better, though still not 100%.

Leave a Reply

