Preparing for the Bayshore Marathon

19 Jan

I ran my first marathon, the Wisconsin Marathon, in May 2012. I  finished in 5 hours and 31 minutes. I crossed that finish line in tears; I was so tired and sore, but so incredibly proud.

Those of us who have run a marathon know that, after the mylar blanket is crumpled up, after the blisters are healed, and after the medal is hung up, one of the questions people ask is, “So, will you do another one?”

And those of us who have run a marathon know that that is a loaded question.

Whereas my husband, Christopher, has pretty much sworn off the marathon, I always knew, deep down in my heart of hearts, that I could never say farewell to the full Mary.

I felt like such a badass. I wanted to feel that again.

Well, almost 3 years to the date later, I’ll be able to add another 26.2 to my list. With my dear friends Mindy and Andi by my side, and my husband and sweet little girls along the course, I’m running the Bayshore Marathon in Traverse City, Mich., on May 23.

I’ve got 18 weeks of training on tap, and I’d like to chronicle the journey here, with not only recaps of my long runs, but also reflections on all the aspects of training for a marathon.

You can check out my training plan here.

On tap for this week:

  • Monday – yoga
  • Tuesday – 3-mile run
  • Wednesday – Zumba
  • Thursday – 3-mile run
  • Friday – Body Pump
  • Saturday – 6-mile run
  • Sunday – rest

I’ll be back next Monday with a post about Week 1.

6 Responses to “Preparing for the Bayshore Marathon”

  1. Debra Heimerman January 19, 2015 at 8:20 am #

    So very proud of you Kayla.

  2. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 19, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

    I CANNOT WAIT!!! ❤

  3. walter baade sr January 19, 2015 at 11:57 pm #

    Be careful, it canbe addicting. Nextyou will want to do triathlons lik emy son Wally

    • kaylabee18 February 2, 2015 at 10:03 am #

      I’d love to do a triathlon someday, Uncle Wally!

Leave a Reply

