Race recap: Reagan Run 5K

10 Jul

Wow. Another weekend, another race. Another race, another post-partum personal best.

Christopher and I ran – for the second time – the Reagan Run 5K in Dixon on Saturday.

The race has a tough course, especially for the distance; it starts at the boyhood home of Ronald Reagan downtown, crosses the Rock River, winds through the woods and up some steep grades, and again crosses the river and ends in Haymarket Square downtown.

But the race truly is one not to miss. It attracts more than 1,500 runners and hundreds of spectators.

We decided to run separately, rather than together, as we had last weekend, for our first race of the season. Christopher headed up to the 8-minute-mile corral, while I remained in the 10-minute-mile corral.

I felt really good through almost all of the race. The weather was nearly perfect – slightly overcast, temperatures in the mid-60s, slightly breezy – unlike the weather two years ago.

I passed the first mile in less than 9:30 and the second mile in about 18:45. I jogged through the water stops and stopped to walk twice, once in the woods after ascending a hill and once near the high school, not to far from the 3-mile mark.

I crossed the Peoria Avenue bridge and, with only a few turns left before the straightaway to the finish line, I kicked with whatever was left in the tank.

I finished in about 30 minutes and felt, only momentarily, sick. I regained my composure, though, and discussed the likelihood of besting my time from last weekend. It was going to be close.

Christopher and I found our friend, Jen, a college sophomore home for the summer who offered to keep an eye on the girls while we ran the race. We reunited with the peanuts, then pulled them out of the stroller to give them sweaty hugs and kisses.

20140705_085005(0)We hung around only long enough to indulge in a scoop of Culver’s vanilla frozen custard; we had to get home to get the girls down for a nap. We waited most of the day for results.

Turns out, they were well worth the wait. Christopher and I killed it! He finished in 25:11, while I finished in 29:38 – 7 seconds faster than the Pretzel City 5K last weekend and good enough for 23rd (out of 69) in my age group.

Again, we were really, really happy with the race (which upgraded to chip timing!) and so, so glad we ran it.

And now, the details:

Distance: 3.1 miles
Duration: 29:38 chip time (29:25 RunKeeper time)
Average pace: 9:45 per mile
Mile 1: 8:52
Mile 2: 10:45
Mile 3: 10:04

2 Responses to “Race recap: Reagan Run 5K”

  1. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. July 10, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

    GO KAYLA!! You’re killing it, my friend! Also, that husband of yours is speedy. In the “related posts” section on this, your Irish Jig recap is showing up and it’s making me sad. I miss racing with you! BUT, so excited to see you guys next month!!!

    • kaylabee18 July 10, 2014 at 10:27 pm #

      Thanks, love. Yes, he is a fast one, isn’t he? I’m so jelly.

      I was updating my Race Recaps page and seeing all the pics and all the races we ran together makes me super nostalgic and sad too. I wore my RBR 25K shirt this morning, for the first time in a LONG, LONG time. I naturally thought of you. Anyway, next month will be glorious. And we’ll be on a beach, yo!

Leave a Reply

