Warm Peanut Butter Apple Crisp for One

31 Mar

It was a weeknight. My chores were done – the dishes, the laundry. My workout was complete. My stomach rumbled.

I’m trying to be better about not snacking as much, not reaching for a granola bar the instant I think I’m hungry, or worse, the moment I’m bored or stressed. I’m also trying to be better about needing wanting dessert after dinner, trying to limit it to just the weekends.

But on this weeknight, with almost 400 calories left in my food budget for the day, I needed something and I wanted something sweet.

I thought about broiling a grapefruit. Not dessert.

I thought about a bowl of strawberries and pineapple.  Again, not dessert.

Then, I thought I’d slice up an apple and grab a big spoonful of peanut butter for dipping. Still not dessert, but more along the lines of an ideal not-too-healthy-but-still-satisfying snack.

For some reason, I was moved to find a new way to enjoy my beloved duo. A quick Google search led me to peanut butter apple crisp. Um, yes please!

 20140326_221818

Warm Peanut Butter Apple Crisp for One

(Adapted from A Kitchen Addiction)

This perfectly portion-controlled dessert is warm and comforting. It’s just the right balance of sweet and not-so-sweet, rich and not-too-rich, ooey-gooey and crispy-crunchy.

Ingredients

For the filling:
1 small apple, peeled and diced
1 1/2 teaspoons honey
Pinch each of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves

For the topping:
3 tablespoons old-fashioned oats
1 tablespoon flour
2 teaspoons packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon crunchy peanut butter, softened
1 teaspoon butter, softened

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a ramekin or individual baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.

In a small bowl, toss the diced apple with the honey and spices.

In another small bowl, combine the oats, flour and brown sugar. “Cut in” the softened peanut butter and butter with a fork until the mixture is crumbly. (Tip: I microwaved the peanut butter and butter in a small glass dish for about 15-20 seconds, then added it to the oat mixture.)

Pour the honey-coated apples into the prepared ramekin. Sprinkle the peanut butter-oat topping on top.

Bake for 20 minutes, then, remove from the oven and allow it to cool a bit before eating.

20140326_221812

Go make this now.

The end.

P.S. Simply double the ingredients to make this a crisp for two!

6 Responses to “Warm Peanut Butter Apple Crisp for One”

  1. katielookingforward April 1, 2014 at 9:16 am #

    Making this tonight!!

  2. Jenna Newsome April 3, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    This looks absolutely delicious!

  3. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. April 4, 2014 at 10:16 am #

    I want this. Right now.

Leave a Reply

