#dreambig in 2014

6 Jan

My mommy body is a badge: I carried two beautiful, healthy and strong baby girls for 37 weeks and one day in my body. The extra weight, the stretch marks, the flabby belly, the wider hips, the scar – it’s all proof of the greatest accomplishment of my life.

But while my new body is one I cherish, my old body (with its new shape) is one I miss and one I sorely need to get back.

See, since the girls were born, I paid no mind to diet or exercise; I had more important things to worry about. I tried to get out for walks when the weather still was nice. I made sure to eat fruits and vegetables, drink plenty of water and not go out to eat much. But, in the last month or so, around the time of the holidays, I let myself slack a bit. I ate whatever I wanted, however much of it I wanted.

The new year brings with it the opportunity for a fresh start, a clean slate. And I’m taking advantage of it. I’m dreaming big – for me – and setting my sights on improving my diet, getting back into shape and just becoming a fitter, healthier mommy.

I joined my friend Mindy’s DietBet, which starts today. Christopher and a few of our friends are in on it, too. The idea is we all pony up $25 and vow to lose 4 percent of our body weight in four weeks. Those who lose the weight split the pot, so even if everybody in the bet loses the weight, then everybody at least wins their money back.

I figure it’s time to get serious and put my money where my mouth is.

I’m really excited. But I’m a bit nervous, too.

I’m setting mini goals for each week (This week, the focus is on a big serving of greens at least once a day and 96 ounces of water a day.) and bigger “restrictions” for the duration of the contest (No eating out. No alcohol. Dessert only once a week.).

I hope this is the kick in the pants – and provides the results – that I so desperately need to once again feel like myself.

4 Responses to “#dreambig in 2014”

  1. thebabydoctorswife January 6, 2014 at 2:16 pm #

    Go mama! Feeling good about yourself will only make you a better mama if that is even possible.

    You should also download MyFitnessPal. I track everything there including my workouts, food and even subtract 500 cal right breast feeding. I have lost 5 pounds in the past few weeks just by monitoring what I’m eating. I really just didn’t know how much I was putting into my body. It helps so much! I know you can do this girl!

    • kaylabee18 January 7, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

      I’m using that, Carin. 🙂 I have my goal set to 1800 calories a day, to keep up my breastfeeding. And I’m not worrying about exercising too hard, since I’m already burning calories breastfeeding…as long as I get some activity. Thanks for the boost!

  2. Wally Baade January 6, 2014 at 5:21 pm #

    GOOD LUCK

Leave a Reply

