One week old

19 Aug

Written Saturday, Aug. 17, 2013

IMG_2854

(Anna left, Elise right)

Anna and Elise are just 1 week old and already have developed distinct personalities. They are so fun!

2013-08-10 15.44.00

Anna is our feisty little girl. She moves her body, especially her hands, a lot; her hands often get in the way when she nurses. She tends to be the fussier one of the two. She also tends to spit up more than her sister.

Anna prefers to be held up high, against a chest or a bosom. She cranes and bobs her head – her neck muscles already are so strong! – and scans the room with her eyes. She loves to hang onto a finger and has an iron grip.

2013-08-10 15.46.42

Elise is our more delicate and docile girl. She doesn’t wiggle or roll as much, but she too is really strong. She is the better, more methodical eater of the two, and she does this adorable “birdie” thing when she nurses.

Elise likes to be cradled in your arms. She has many facial expressions, often transitioning from one to another in a matter of seconds, but also is very observant.

2013-08-10 17.18.09

(Anna left, Elise right; in the recovery room on their birthday)

A and E twin behavior

The girls really have a remarkable bond as twins. They spent 37 weeks and 1 day in the womb together, punching, kicking and nuzzling each other through a thin membrane. They now demonstrate that behavior outside the womb.

20130817_153624

(Elise left, Anna right)

They roll to face each other, and when they are facing each other, the magic happens: We have seen them give Eskimo kisses (above, top right), pet each other (above, bottom right), hold hands, etc.

20130818_105840

(Elise left, Anna right)

The girls also have a sweet, budding relationship with Dexter. It’s really fun to watch him respond to their cries, their gurgles and their other little peeps. He hears them and trots over to the Pack ‘n’ Play and looks through the mesh to check on them. He also loves to give them kisses – and the girls don’t mind a bit!

20130815_094125

Some other notes:

  • The girls nurse every 2-3 hours, depending on their cues, and are 100 percent breastfed. (Go Mommy and Daddy!)
  • The girls sleep after every feeding, unless they are feeling playful.
  • The girls wear size 0 cloth diapers.
  • Anna and Elise have been on three car rides – home from the hospital; back to the hospital for an appointment, then to run errands and visit the newspaper; and out for a quick breakfast and to run an errand.
  • They have had two baths at home.
  • They have had many visitors: In the hospital, they met Oma Karin, Opa Adam, Grandpa Ken and our coworker Angel. Once at home, they met Grandma Deb and Grandpa Bruce, the neighbors and our coworker Christi.

IMG_2835 cropped

I would be remiss if I didn’t dedicate a paragraph (or five) to my amazing husband. Christopher really took to his role as a daddy in an instant. The way he handles the girls is incredible. He is so gentle and loving and fun. You can just tell he is smitten with them.

He says it took doing everything once to realize that it is second nature, even if it needs polishing – from soothing a fussy baby in the middle of the night to changing a poopy diaper to bathing a wriggling baby in a sink.

He has done all of the heavy lifting – literally and figuratively – because I have been out of commission. He has not only cared for the girls, but for me, too.

We make a great team, Christopher and I, and I couldn’t be happier to be traveling this road of parenthood with him at my side.

I never thought I could love, respect or trust my husband as much as I already did, but I do. He is my everything, and now, he is these girls’ everything, too.

Anna and Elise have changed our lives – from the moment they emerged from my belly – and we are absolutely smitten with them and with our new life as a family of four.

Happy 1 week birthday, girls! Mommy and Daddy love you so much!

11 Responses to “One week old”

  1. babylute2013 August 19, 2013 at 7:10 am #

    It’s so precious how they cuddle together and have their twin bond. Way to go on breastfeeding, keep it up, momma! They are beautiful.

    • kaylabee18 August 19, 2013 at 7:21 am #

      Thanks, hon! It’s really fascinating to watch their little personalities and bond develop, even at just 9 days old!

  2. thebabydoctorswife August 19, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    This makes me so happy! What a beautiful family of 4 you are. I am not going to lie, I don’t think there is anything more special than having twins. I always wanted them but they don’t run in my family and I know the chances are low. Those girls will always have the most special bond! I don’t know if it’s because I have only seen photos of you and your husband so am only judging from what I have seen, but Anna looks most like you to me, and Elise like your husband. They are so gorgeous and precious! I also love to hear your appreciation and love for your husband. xoxoxo

  3. katielookingforward August 19, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    That cuddling is so adorable!!!

    • kaylabee18 August 20, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

      It really is. It blows my mind every time. It hasn’t gotten old. Don’t think it will.

  4. Julie August 19, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    The photo of them holding hands is so adorable!

  5. Karin (mom) Herd August 19, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    I have to concur that Christopher has been a phenomenal husband and daddy. There is no one I trust more with my own daughter than him. Thank you, Christopher!

    • kaylabee18 August 20, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

      Thanks, mom. I’ll make sure he sees that. 😉

Leave a Reply

