The nursery

8 Aug

*Note: One. Week. From. Today. We’re having babies. Holy moley.

The girls’ room quickly has become our favorite room in the house. In fact, except for curtains and glider cushions (coming with my mom in a couple of weeks) and, of course, two baby girls, it’s the only room that is completely finished.

IMG_2828

We selected this Up and Away bedding from Cocalo on a whim. We never really picked a theme until we saw this set at Babies R Us. We liked the idea of bright colors, with not too much of that ‘baby girl pink’, and animals. I also liked the idea of fun, geometric patterns. This set captured all of those desires, and it really became the foundation for everything in the nursery.

IMG_2829

IMG_2830

We (mostly Christopher and my dad) refinished my old dresser (which has been to all of my apartments and homes over the last 10-plus years) and my old changing table (which dates back to the mid-1980s) to match the dark cherry cribs.

IMG_2823

The guys stripped and stained the dresser, but after mixed results, opted to spray paint it. It turned out great. Christopher and I found the pink knobs at Target to complete the look.

IMG_2822

The guys stripped and stained this piece, and it turned out perfect. I picked up the storage bins to hold all of our diapering things (disposables on the top shelf, cloth on the bottom) at Walmart.

IMG_2820

IMG_2821

I made the mobile to hang over the changing table, and despite my carpal tunnel, it turned out pretty well. I am in love with the felt elephants and birds (not so much the giraffes, which look like Homer Simpson, so just ignore those). I’m not crazy about the final assembly or how it hangs, but it definitely works.

IMG_2833

We received this piece as a gift and centered it over the cribs.

IMG_2832

Christopher made these adorable silhouette giraffe prints using three kinds of scrapbook paper. There’s one for each girl, and they’re inverses – one is a green giraffe with pink spots and this one is pink with green spots.

IMG_2831

I doctored up this free printable by covering the heart under the word ‘girls’ with a bird that matched our theme. There’s one for each girl, naturally.

IMG_2824

Finally, to eat up a little more wall space on the wall opposite the cribs, I made this family ‘portrait’ by cutting elephants in adult and child sizes out of scrapbook paper, then added a cut-out of our beloved Dexter, the black lab.

The only thing not pictured is, as mentioned above, the curtain-less window and the cushion-less glider. Christopher and my dad spray painted the glider (a hand-me-down from Chris’ parents) and my mom recovered cushions. My mom also made curtains. Those will go in when she comes down in about a week.

So, that’s the room where our little ones will spend a lot of time. It’s full of color and cuteness and loads of love; everyone, mommy and daddy especially, contributed to it – either by literally sweating over a project or picking out something that goes with the room, and that makes it extra special.

We can’t wait to bring them home.

8 Responses to “The nursery”

  1. babylute2013 August 8, 2013 at 10:22 am #

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!! I love the personal touches you put into the girls’ room. All of the wall hangings that you made are inspiring me! My favorite is the one with the momma and poppa elephants, two pink baby elephants and the black lab. That is so precious.

    I just love the whole room. And how cool that the changing table is from when you were a baby. That is so awesome! Our dressers in our nursery are from my husband’s set from childhood (which we also re-finished). It is so much more meaningful.

    Happy one-week-until-girls-are-here! Exciting!

    • kaylabee18 August 17, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      Thanks, lady. Yes, we really wanted them to feel the love we have.

  2. thebabydoctorswife August 8, 2013 at 10:26 am #

    What a gorgeous nursery! I absolutely LOVE the theme. The bedding is perfect and I love all of the thought and love that went into the decor. Can’t wait to see those girls!!!

    • kaylabee18 August 17, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

      Thanks. I’m quite proud of it.

  3. katielookingforward August 8, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    Love it!!! I think it looks wonderful!

  4. afamilyformcmanda August 8, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    the homer simpson giraffes made me giggle. your nursery is adorable, like you said, not too girlie, but still super sweet! ONE WEEK!

    • kaylabee18 August 17, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

      Tee hee. Yeah, my hubby loves it when I say that.

Leave a Reply

