36 weeks

4 Aug

Written Friday, Aug. 2, 2013

MaternityIMG_2669touched

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as honeydew melons or heads of Romaine lettuce this week, measuring more than 18 1/2 inches, head to heel, and weighing almost 6 pounds.

Our girls aren’t quite there yet (see below), but they should continue to pack on the weight over the next couple of weeks.

We’ve used both the melons (35 weeks) and the lettuce (33 weeks), so…you get an extra photo from our maternity shoot.

How I’m Changing

I’m still pregnant!

I still don’t really seem to be getting bigger, but I definitely have the stretch marks and sore back that might suggest otherwise.

I’m not really having any signs of labor, either, just the typical Braxton Hicks contractions.

Things are definitely getting tough: Getting up from the couch, getting out of the car or rolling over in bed all are athletic events. Even sitting in my desk chair or on the couch for too long is uncomfortable because my posture suffers with the huge belly.

Oh! I’m not working anymore, as of today. It’s bittersweet, but I’m ready for the rest…and to wear nothing but my pajamas all day.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

First things first, we scheduled our C-section for Thursday, Aug. 15…aka TWO WEEKS FROM YESTERDAY (and less than that from the day of this post going live)!

I’m still bummed about having to go the surgery route, but I feel so much more at peace about a scheduled C-section. I think it’s because I can prepare for it (see below) and I know that, if we make it to Aug. 15, I will have my regular doctor, rather than whoever is on call.

Next, we learned Baby A weighs 4 lbs. 1 oz. and Baby B weighs 4 lbs. 13 oz. Their growth has fallen off the “typical” curve; A is in the 10th percentile and B is in the 13th, but our doctor couldn’t be less worried. He didn’t exactly give us reasons for his lack of concern, but our OB nurse, who does our non-stress tests twice a week, and who we really have grown attached to, did: She basically said some babies grow fast, others grow slow…but it’s not all about how big they are. Size is important, but it’s important relative to so many other things — breathing, brain development, etc.

So, all in all, we’re worried – we don’t want them to have to go to the NICU in Rockford and be separated from them — but it’s less of a worry than it was when we learned their weights from the ultrasound tech.

Finally, our testing nurse verbally walked us through a C-section so we know exactly what to expect, and both Christopher and I feel better about it. We likely can have as good an experience (skin-to-skin contact, immediate breastfeeding, etc.) as we would have asked for in the nonsurgical setting.

 

  • Weight gained (to date): 33  lbs.
  • Workouts: Three – all walks around the neighborhood with Christopher and Dexter.
  • Food aversions: Still none!
  • Food cravings: Chocolate chip cookies and Baker’s Square pie – French silk, to be exact.
  • Baby items purchased: These romper sets that we spied a month ago at Babies R Us but hadn’t been able to find in 9 month size until I found them on the clearance rack at Farm & Fleet.
  • Baby items received: A box of clothes from the daughter of a friend of my mom’s and a bag of clothes and a few other things from Christopher’s mom. We have absolutely no shortage of clothes for the first 3 months, that’s for sure!
  • Maternity clothes that still fit: Very few…
  • Days until the girls’ scheduled arrival: 13 (as of Friday).
  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, 36 1/2 weeks, a routine checkup, including labs, and a non-stress test.
4 Responses to “36 weeks”

  1. babylute2013 August 4, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Love the picture! You look great. How exciting to have a date on the calendar!! Your girls will be just perfect when they arrive.

    • kaylabee18 August 17, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

      Thanks! It was nice to have a “deadline.” Turns out we didn’t need it.

  2. beckykearney August 5, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    August 15th!!! With my due date being the 19th, I could totally see us having babies pretty close to the same time 🙂

    You still look so very beautiful Momma! Take Care, girl.

    • kaylabee18 August 17, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      Two days left… I haven’t been into my Feedly yet. I hope I haven’t missed it!

Leave a Reply

