35 weeks

29 Jul

Written Friday, July 26 2013

35 - Honeydew babies

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as coconuts or honeydew melons this week, measuring more than 18 inches, head to heel, and weighing more than 5 pounds.

How I’m Changing

I’ve made it to week 35 – the length of the average twin pregnancy – and I’m here to tell about it!

I have this hunch these girls and I are in this for the long(er) haul…at least a couple more weeks.

I don’t seem to be getting bigger, so the girls don’t have a lot of room to move around in there – but they continue to wiggle around.

But I do continue to have my other “symptoms” – carpal tunnel, fatigue, aches and pains, which now are coming in the low back and low abdomen, occasionally.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

I entered “testing” this past week; I have to go to the hospital for non-stress tests twice a week every week until delivery.

We went Monday and Thursday. The nurse first did an ultrasound to monitor movement and practice breathing, as well as to check the girls’ positions, the amount of amniotic fluid and the condition of the placentas. She then strapped a couple of monitors to my belly to measure heart rates and contractions. The girls and I got an A+ both days.

I have a new concern, though, as of this week: I seem headed for a C-section.

Baby A is breech – she was on Monday and Thursday and still feels that way today – while Baby B is more transverse. Neither one is in a position to facilitate a vaginal delivery.

I’m so bummed. Obviously, the girls will arrive happy and healthy, vaginal birth or C-section. But still, I’m really bummed.

I don’t know what to expect – I’ve never had major surgery in my life! I don’t know how I’ll react to the drugs. I’m petrified of the sterile operating room environment. I hate that I’ll have a scar and a longer recovery.

I know there is still a small, small chance Baby A could flip…but I also know, if she doesn’t, then there isn’t much I can do.

Amy reminded me that I am still birthing those babies, even if it is via a C-section, and she even noted that my path might be a bit harder and scarier…which was some comfort. But I still feel gypped.

35 - Honeydew profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 32  lbs.
  • Workouts: Three – all walks around the neighborhood with Christopher and Dexter.
  • Food aversions: Still none!
  • Food cravings: Pizza.
  • Maternity items purchased: None.
  • Baby items purchased: Books from Goodwill.
  • Baby items received: A couple of gifts from friends.
  • Pieces of artwork made for the nursery: Six. I can’t wait to take pictures of the final product and show off this special space. I love it so much.
  • Friends who visited us: Andrew, who we haven’t seen since our wedding, and Valerie and her husband, Andy, who are expecting their first baby in December.
  • Friends who we visited: Angel and Christina, who welcomed their first baby a few weeks ago.
  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, 35 1/2 weeks, when we actually have three appointments – an ultrasound, a routine checkup and a non-stress test.
6 Responses to “35 weeks”

  1. babylute2013 July 29, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Keeping my fingers crossed for head-down babies! Hopefully it happens. If not, I totally get why you feel bummed, but even with a C-section, you are still giving birth to your babies, which is a miracle! Vaginal or C-section = miracle of childbirth. Hopefully babies get into birth position so you have more options though!

    • kaylabee18 August 2, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      They’re still hunkered down in their respective positions, but I appreciate the good vibes. You’re right though — miracle of childbirth still occurs. 🙂

  2. beckykearney July 30, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    Oh my goodness… those little girls are going to be here so soon! I’m so happy to hear that everyone is doing great and the babies are healthy (even though they are in the wrong position).

    I really love how your nursery looks in the background of your pictures! The colors are so perfect and so sweet. Good job, momma!

    • kaylabee18 August 2, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      Thanks, doll! I’ll post some more nursery pics next week.

  3. Amy July 30, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    I’ve already said my thoughts to you privately but just to say it again: I’m sorry that you’ll likely have to have a c-section. No matter what anyone says though, you ARE giving birth to those babies and you are doing great things for them already by choosing the safest way for them to arrive! Even if it’s not your first choice, you are still being a good mommy by knowing it’s what needs to be done. Hang in there and remember that it’s ok to feel sad about it if you want–you need to be allowed to process those feelings. XOXO

    • kaylabee18 August 2, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      Thanks, Amy, for helping me work through those feelings…and reminding me to keep it real. 😉

Leave a Reply

