34 weeks

22 Jul

Written Friday, July 19, 2013

34 - Cantaloupe babies

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as cantaloupes or butternut squash this week, measuring almost 18 inches, head to heel, and weighing about 4 3/4 pounds.

How I’m Changing

Blah blah blah tired. Blah blah blah uncomfortable. Blah blah blah hungry.

This week, the girls have made tap-dancing on my cervix their pastime. It feels so weird and sends a bolt of lightning through my body.

Also this week, the Braxton Hicks contractions have slowed but seem stronger and to last a bit longer.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

First, our doctor appointment Wednesday was quick but went well. The doctor still thinks I look great and he, like he always does, tells me I’m doing a good job. I’m measuring at 39 weeks, the girls’ heart rates are around 150 bpm, and I’m now in “testing.”

Every week from now on, I have to go to the hospital for non-stress tests. They’ll strap a couple of monitors to my belly, one each to measure the girls’ heart rates and movements and one to measure contractions. It’ll give the doctors an idea of how, if at all, things are progressing.

Next, I’ve given my two weeks’ notice at work, which means my last day of work, if nothing happens between now and then, is Friday, Aug. 2. I have two sick days to use, so I’m going to take the next two Mondays (when I have doctor appointments anyway) so I don’t lose the time.

And last, just because it has to be said, I still hate hearing how small I am for carrying twins this far into my pregnancy. Ugh. Seriously, people? Get a new line. Also, there’s a big difference between, “You’re so small. You look great!” and, “You’re so small.” accompanied by a funny look at my belly. And to the cashier at Jo Ann Fabrics? Just because I appear small does not mean my babies are going to come out “dinky.” Yep, that’s right; she said that.

34 - Cantaloupe profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 31 lbs.
  • Workouts: One purposeful long walk last Saturday.
  • Food aversions: Still none.
  • Food cravings: Watermelon (still…) plus Twizzlers, brownies and pancakes. Think my body wants carbs? Sheesh.
  • Maternity items purchased: None, unless you count the few things necessary to pack the hospital bag.
  • Baby items purchased: None.
  • Baby items received: A few things, including some wall art from Ruth, my mom’s good friend. Oh, and our stroller!
  • Baby items assembled: Two. We installed the car seats (just need to have the bases checked by the fire department) and assembled the stroller.
  • Episodes of “The West Wing” watched while crafting: More than a dozen… #besttvshowever
  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday (today), 34 1/2 weeks.
13 Responses to “34 weeks”

  1. Melissa DiMotto July 22, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Ignore the stupid comments as best you can. I am 37 weeks and upon learning that, the cashier at Target remarked incredulously, “Wow, you’re so small.” I know I should feel flattered, but for some reason I feel offended, like my unborn baby will be malnourished in some way. You look great and are taking wonderful care of your precious little girls. Hang in there!

    • kaylabee18 July 24, 2013 at 11:42 am #

      Exactly! It all depends on how it’s said and who says it. Sometimes, I can say thanks and brush it off…like OK, this person is telling me, in a way, that they are jealous I look good. Other times, I get all flustered and nervous, as was the case with the woman at the store…like how dare she accuse me of being a horrible mother!

      Hang in there, too. You are so close!

  2. beckykearney July 22, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Big or small, it’s really never okay to comment on a pregnant woman’s size. Come on people! Believe it or not, I’m starting to get used to the “you’re so small comments”. I used to feel the need to justify my size and make sure everyone knew the baby is still growing just like he should. But now, I just “yeah, I know” to agree with them and then try to change the subject.

    Also, I’ve gotta know… what have you been crafting?!?! 🙂

    • kaylabee18 July 24, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      That’s pretty much my approach at this point, too.

      Christopher and I made some wall art and I made a mobile for the nursery. I promise to post pics this weekend…

  3. Ruth Jackelini July 22, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    Just ignore the morons!!! Your size is not important, their’s is and it sounds like they are getting big and strong!! I am glad you are happy with the wall art!!! Enjoy it for years to come! Hugzz to all of you!!!

    • kaylabee18 July 24, 2013 at 11:44 am #

      Thanks! Can’t wait to show off the nursery. It’s so cute!

  4. afamilyformcmanda July 22, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    I think you look great! don’t listen to people, they’re just jealous 🙂 and the cervical tap dance IS just like crotch lightning (sorry to be graphic)… can’t imagine TWO of them in there doing that!

    • kaylabee18 July 24, 2013 at 11:44 am #

      Bahahaha! Crotch lightning. My new favorite term.

  5. thebabydoctorswife July 22, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    You are too cute! You look so good pregnant! I am getting so excited for you and love your updates. I think we are craving the same things! xo

    • kaylabee18 July 24, 2013 at 11:45 am #

      Aww, thanks hon. I love yours, too. It’s been so fun to keep up with all these other ladies who are expecting.

      Maybe we should get together for lunch? 😉

      • thebabydoctorswife July 24, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

        I would love if we could all meet up for a blogging girls weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. babylute2013 July 22, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    Enjoy your last few days at work! How exciting to be almost done working:) I am also done working and even though I loved my job, it’s nice to take it easy.

    • kaylabee18 July 24, 2013 at 11:46 am #

      Thanks. I can’t wait, actually. Sadly, every day gets a little harder — to move around, to be in a chair, etc. I am looking forward to truly relaxing.

Leave a Reply

