32 weeks

10 Jul

**Sorry for the delay in posting this. It’s been a hell of a work week – big deadline looming – and it’s just too tough to find jicama in local stores and take and edit photos without the Internet. I hate not having the photos – I really want them for posterity – but I hate delaying the posts so long.**

Written Sunday, July 7, 2013

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as jicama or squash this week, measuring 16 3/4 inches, head to heel, and weighing about 3 3/4 pounds.

How I’m Changing

Like last week, I’m still getting tired out easily. Also like last week (and the several weeks prior), I’m still suffering from numb fingers and pained hands and wrists.

New this week, I’m really bothered by the heat; it makes me feel lethargic and bloated and all-around uncomfortable.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

It was another week of nesting…

As I discussed briefly in my last post, we spent Saturday just being a couple — nothing too date-like, but just some time together.

We had our latest ultrasound and prenatal appointment Monday morning. Everything looks good: The girls are 3 lbs. 3 oz. and 3 lbs. 6 oz., respectively, and one is breech while the other is transverse. They are moving a ton! We won’t have another ultrasound until July 29, but we do have to see the doctor every 2 weeks from now on.

I took a sick day Wednesday; my hands were painfully crampy and stiff and my fingers were very numb. Christopher and I spent a low-key day around the house, then we met our coworkers (including our two new reporters) out for drinks and merriment.

My dad joined us for some more work fun Thursday (Fourth of July); we sanded the dresser and changing table to go in the nursery.

Christopher and my dad stained the furniture Friday. We also got our washer and dryer delivered. My mom, who came down for the day, helped me go through baby clothes to identify any gaps in our supply. Chris and my dad tried to install/hook up the appliances, but ran into some major trouble: The washer line had been capped and sprayed water everywhere when they popped the cap off. The dryer requires a very specific gas line and is virtually unavailable everywhere we looked in town. We felt, in a way, we had taken three steps forward and two steps back all day, but we still accomplished quite a bit.

Together, my dad, Christopher and I tackled a ton more Saturday and even Sunday (technically week 33), including setting up the nursery. We’re several loads of laundry, a set of drawer pulls and some organization away from having it ready for our little ladies. (I’ll write about that next week.)

  • Weight gained (to date): 32 lbs.
  • Workouts: I failed to keep track this week. I know we went on a couple of walks, and I did plenty of work around the house. I did manage to spend a few nights with my feet up, too.
  • Food aversions: Still none.
  • Food cravings: Watermelon and homemade ice cream.
  • Maternity items purchased: Two nursing bras and a nightgown for at the hospital and for the first few weeks at home.
  • Baby items purchased: Two pairs of newborn-sized sleep gowns for the first few weeks at home.
  • Baby items received: A few more gifts arrived in the mail. My dad also brought down our car seats, which might get installed this coming week.
  • Trips to Menards: At least four between Thursday and Friday.
  • Next prenatal appointment: Wednesday, July 17, 33 weeks and 5 days.
5 Responses to “32 weeks”

  1. beckykearney July 11, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    We don’t have Menards around here, but when we first moved into our new house I think we made about 20 trips to Home Depot within the 1st 3 weeks (no joke). It probably doesn’t help much that my husband works in the home building business as a construction manager… so he always has some idea or another for a new project to work on!

    Glad to hear your babies are doing so well! Getting pretty close to the end now… hang in there, girl! 🙂

  2. babylute2013 July 11, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

    Hang in there—I know the heat can get tough, especially since you are carrying twins! Hopefully you have some good A/C in the house and at work!

    • kaylabee18 July 11, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      It is for sure tough — not just the heat but the humidity coupled with the extra weight, all out front. Oy.

      • babylute2013 July 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

        Oh boy, humidity makes a huge difference. I forgot about that—I live in a dry climate.

Leave a Reply

