30 weeks

25 Jun

Written Tuesday, June 25, 2013

**Once again, no “formal” preggo pics this week, as we were moving and didn’t grocery shop for hardly anything, including props of the vegetable variety, until the other day.**

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as long as cucumbers and as big as cabbages this week, measuring about 15 3/4 inches, head to heel, and weighing 3 pounds.

How I’m Changing

I’m getting bigger, I’m still experiencing Braxton Hicks contractions and I’m still suffering from pregnancy-related carpal tunnel syndrome, which has worsened from slight numbness and tingling in my thumb, index finger and middle finger to all out numbness and pain in both hands.

I’ve developed a pretty pronounced linea nigra from my belly button (which barely still is an innie) down to my lower abdomen. I’ve also developed a lovely routine of getting up and going to the bathroom every couple of hours in the middle of the night.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

I’m feeling very anxious and eager (there’s a difference between the two words, although they often are used interchangeably) for our girls to arrive.

We closed on the house last week, then spent hours vacuuming, shampooing carpets and cleaning bathrooms Friday (the day this post should have been written). We received so many necessities and so many other fun gifts from our generous family and friends at our baby shower Saturday. We moved this weekend.

It’s all getting so close and becoming so much more…real. I haven’t been terribly emotional or hormonal during my pregnancy, but I very nearly had a panic attack at the tail end of the gift-opening portion of our shower because I was so overwhelmed by the amount of stuff in front of me…and by the fact that Christopher and I in 5 to 10 weeks will be solely responsible for two precious lives. I have felt that way numerous times since then between moving and unpacking and looking at my baby to-do list and realizing how little time we have left to not only get things done but also to enjoy life as a twosome, as a married couple in our new home.

Our to-do list includes some of the following:

  • Select a pediatrician
  • Set up the nursery (assemble cribs, stain furniture to match, wash and put away baby clothes)
  • Install car seats
  • Take a breastfeeding class and buy nursing bras and tanks
  • Make some freezer meals
  • Pack our hospital bags

My mental, non-baby-related to-do list includes:

  • Finish unpacking and hang artwork and place other decor
  • Clean up the yard
  • Watch the season finale of “Mad Men”
  • Go on a couple of dates with Christopher

I know this is totally normal and quite common, but I can’t help but feel very alone sometimes — between feeling unprepared; feeling useless because of my size or other symptoms, such as numb hands; and trying to maintain some sense of normalcy and routine.

Baby shower

As I mentioned last week and above, we had our baby shower Saturday.

Christopher’s parents hosted the event and did a lovely job. We were joined by a few members of Christopher’s family, most of my family and even a handful of our most special friends. We enjoyed lunch, including an adorable cake, and opened an incredible number of bags, baskets and boxes filled with adorable baby clothes, necessary gear and fun toys.

1002714_531317303596775_40732887_nThe theme for the shower was “two peas in a pod”.

941123_531317783596727_968194644_nAmong the gifts we received were several handmade baby blankets, including the one I am holding, made by my godmother, Lois, who passed away unexpectedly last year.

1000413_531317803596725_774684823_n   Also among the gifts we received were these hilarious onesies from our friends.

I might have been overheated, tired and overwhelmed, but I was incredibly moved by the generosity of our loved ones. I think about the thought that some people put into their gifts (Our dear friends, Amy and Brad, gave us advice, which basically was an A-to-Z list of things we should know as first-time parents, from first-time parents.) and I get goosebumps. Christopher too was overcome with joy; he gave a very heartfelt “speech” and expressed best every sentiment in our hearts when he said we cannot fail because of the love and support we have around us.

 

  • Weight gained (to date): 30 lbs.
  • Workouts: Just two – 25-min. walk (around the new neighborhood) and 1 hour weeding – plus unknown amounts of cleaning, packing, bending, lifting and sweating.
  • Food aversions: Still none.
  • Food cravings: Slushies, fruit bars and lemonade — basically anything cold, sweet and a little tart.
  • Maternity items purchased: None, unless you count the wrist support I bought yesterday (technically week 31).
  • Baby items purchased received: Countless gifts from our family and friends at our shower Saturday.
  • Awesome moments of the week: On Wednesday, we got a full refund of the extra $1,000 we brought to closing in case the bill our new roof came back high. That same morning, on my drive to the title company to pick up the check, I found out my best friend since freshman year of high school is pregnant and due Dec. 28.
  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, 31 1/2 weeks.
5 Responses to “30 weeks”

  1. beckykearney June 26, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    OMG! I love those “drinking buddies” onesies. How cute! 🙂

    • kaylabee18 June 26, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

      Aren’t they great? And if you knew the couple they came from, you’d love them even more. 🙂

  2. babylute2013 July 11, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    What a cute “two peas in a pod” theme! I love the cake. Isn’t it so overwhelming and amazing how generous our friends and family are?! I have my baby shower coming up in a week, and part of my personality is that it’s hard for me to receive gifts. So I’m mentally prepping myself to receive lots of things and remember that people LOVE giving baby things!!

    • kaylabee18 July 11, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      Thanks. I loved the theme.

      Good luck with your shower. It is very overwhelming, but I will say, we are very close to being set for our girls to arrive; we haven’t had to supplement too much.

Leave a Reply

