28 weeks

8 Jun

Written Friday, June 7, 2013

28 Eggplant babies

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as eggplants this week, measuring about 15 inches, head to heel, and weighing 2 1/4 pounds.

How I’m Changing

Another week, another pair of active baby girls! Oh, and Thursday and Friday (today), I pushed on a couple spots on my belly and I could distinctly feel a body; Thursday was baby A’s leg or foot (based on the position she was in at my ultrasound Monday) and Friday was baby B’s back or bottom.

Also this week, I noticed Braxton Hicks contractions. I feel a sudden tightening of my insides, usually accompanied by a rock-hard belly to the touch and the urge to use the restroom, then a release.

New today, in addition to the usual soreness and fatigue (due in part to pregnancy and in part to scrambling around the house cleaning and packing), I think pregnancy-related carpal tunnel syndrome has set in. I felt some tingling/numbness – the same feeling as, your foot “waking up” after falling asleep – in my right hand and wrist.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

I’m honestly feeling really great!

We had our latest ultrasound and prenatal appointment Monday and learned the girls are 2 pounds, 3 ounces apiece and now in the 50th percentile for growth and I am measuring at 32 weeks.

The doctor said, since I look and feel so well, he doesn’t mind if we don’t see him again until our next ultrasound in four weeks. Yippee!

I had my 1-hour glucose test Tuesday and learned today that I passed (Whew!), although I had elevated white blood cells and low red blood cells (Don’t know what that means…).

28 Eggplant profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 29 lbs.

  • Workouts: Five!– 1.3-mile walk, 10 min. barre arms workout, 2-mile walk (with a pit stop for ice cream), 45 min. prenatal workout, hours walking around Madison

  • Food aversions: Still none.

  • Food cravings: Doughnuts. Jimmy John’s.

  • Maternity items purchased: None.

  • Baby items purchased received: Several onesies and two pairs of early-walker shoes, handed down from my old friend, Andrea, who also is a mom of twin girls. Also, a shower gift from my brother, Kyle, came in the mail.

  • (New) house projects tackled: Exterior front door frame painted and exterior back patio door frame painted.

  • (Current) house projects tackled: Basement carpet shampooed, artwork taken down, downstairs bathroom packed up and dining room chairs cleaned.

  • Boxes packed: At least a half-dozen.

  • Days off: One – spent in Madison bumming State Street, eating dinner at The Old Fashioned (where I enjoyed a no-booze old fashioned) and seeing “Wicked” at the Overture Center.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, July 1, 31 1/2 weeks.

4 Responses to “28 weeks”

  1. babylute2013 June 10, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    How neat that you could feel distinct body parts when the babies move around! My sister is 37 weeks, and she’s like “oh yeah, his butt is here and his head is here…” That will be cool when I can start noticing what parts belong where.

    • kaylabee18 June 12, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      It was so strange. I haven’t felt it since then, though…although I have a vague idea where their torsos, bums or heads are, since they’re so large. The leg, though? That was weird. I’m anxious for you to get there, too!

  2. Sarah Ortiz June 10, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    The decreased red blood cells are probably a result of mild anemia from the babies taking your iron stores. Increased white blood cells typically mean infection but because you’re pregnant it’s more likely due to your immune system changing.

    • kaylabee18 June 12, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

      You’re right, Sarah. And I was just below the low side for my RBC: 4.18 and the low end of the spectrum was 4.20. I didn’t get any direction from my doc to get more iron, but it probably wouldn’t kill me to try hard to get a little more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

