27 weeks

2 Jun

Written Sunday, June 2, 2013

27 Rutabega babies

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are (just as they were two weeks ago) as big as rutabagas or heads of cauliflower this week, measuring about 14 1/2 inches, head to heel, and weighing 2 pounds.

We used cauliflower two weeks ago, and we couldn’t find rutabagas this week, so we opted for some hefty ice cream cones, which we got after a long day of touch-up work at the new house (Sunday – technically Week 28). For the record, the cone on the left was Christopher’s – two scoops of chocolate peanut butter swirl, and the one on the right was mine – one scoop of mocha almond fudge. Yum!

How I’m Changing

We’ve entered the third trimester!

I’m feeling the babies move a lot lately. Christopher got to feel them move on Memorial Day, which was pretty awesome. They’re active for quite a while during the day, while I’m writing stories at my desk, and then again in the evening, when I’m putzing on my laptop or watching TV.

I’m also experiencing a lot of soreness and achiness. I think it’s because I’m just on my feet a lot lately, trying to get things together for our rummage sale, packing up and cleaning up here and there, and trying to workout, too. But I also think it’s because I’m the babies are going through another growth spurt.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

I’m deliriously excited to move. I know it will be stressful and overwhelming, and I know we have a lot to do and not a lot of time in which to do it, but I just can’t wait to assemble the girls’ cribs, hang their clothes in the closet and generally settle into our new space.

This feeling comes after a hell of a day on Wednesday, when I had a ton of last-minute, get-this-done-now things to do, such as gathering up updated banking information, setting up homeowners insurance, etc., and then Thursday, when we got word our loan was approved and found out it’s on its way to the USDA/Rural Development office.

It’s all coming together!

27 Rutebaga profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 27 lbs.

  • Workouts: Four – 1.25-mile walk, 2.5-mile walk, 45 min. mowing lawn, 40 min. prenatal barre workout.

  • Food aversions: None.

  • Food cravings: Doughnuts. Mexican.

  • Maternity items purchased received: A few dresses from my mom.

  • Baby items purchased received: Two adorable outfits for each girl from our friends, with whom we had dinner (Mexican – finally!) Friday night.

  • Visits from friends: One, from my dear friend, Mindy, from Michigan on Saturday and Sunday, then another from my dad, who helped with some house projects. (See below.)

  • House projects tackled: Washer hauled out of the basement, basement wall painted, rummage sale items gathered, dresser stripped, broken umbrella dismantled and hauled to the garbage.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, 27 1/2 weeks.

6 Responses to “27 weeks”

  1. beckykearney June 2, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Congrats on the new house! That really is so exciting… I bet you can’t wait to get your little girls’ room all put together.

    Oh, and those ice cream cones look like they were so good!!! I’m really jealous right now.

    • kaylabee18 June 12, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Thanks. We’re pumped. And no, I can’t wait to get their room ready. I think it will go a long way in helping me feel prepared for their arrival.

  2. thebabydoctorswife June 3, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    I can totally relate to the feeling achy! My uterus has been sore and it has to be because this is a really rapid time of growth for baby (babies for you). So glad to hear about the house and that things are going well!

    • kaylabee18 June 12, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Thanks, doll. Things are moving along nicely!

  3. babylute2013 June 3, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    That’s exciting to get moved soon and feel settled!

Leave a Reply

