26 weeks

27 May

Written Saturday, May 25, 2013, and Monday, May 27, 2013

26 Cucumber babies

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as long as English cucumbers or big as heads of lettuce this week, measuring about 14 inches, head to heel, and weighing 1 2/3 pounds.

How I’m Changing

Nothing major to report on this topic. I’ve been having some more restless nights of sleep lately, but I’ve otherwise been feeling good.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

Well, they sometimes say clothes make the man. And in this case, a giant plastic storage tub of maternity clothes make the pregnant woman.

It has been seriously mood-lifting, confidence-boosting and life-changing to have a whole new wardrobe from which to choose every day. It has made getting dressed for work more fun. And it has made walking around with almost 30 extra pounds on my frame much more comfortable.

I am greatly indebted to my darling cousin, Lisa.

On another couple of notes:

— We are so close to Christopher being able to feel the babies move. I have an anterior placenta, so he might not feel them as much or as strongly because it acts like a cushion between them and the outside, even daddy’s hands. They are moving a ton, though, lately.

— We are this close to moving, too, which means we are getting closer to being able to set up the nursery, among our other living spaces.

— We also are so close to the THIRD TRIMESTER?! Seriously?! That is all there is to say about that…

26 Cucumber profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 27lbs.

  • Workouts: Five! – 2.5-mile hike, 1.6-mile walk, 1.8-mile walk + 50 min. prenatal pilates, 1.25-mile walk, and 1.6-mile walk.

  • Food aversions: None.

  • Food cravings: Orange Julius, strawberry sundaes, toasted English muffins with salted butter, bagels.

  • Maternity items purchased received: A whole plastic storage container of jeans and pants, skirts, capris and shorts, shirts and tank tops from my cousin, Lisa.

  • Baby items purchased received: A basket of goodies, including wipes, baby shampoo and lotion and Detroit Tigers onesies. (See below.)

  • Visits from friends: One, from my dear friend, Mindy, from Michigan on Friday.

  • Night meetings covered: Two.

  • Movies watched outdoors: One – “Wreck-It Ralph” – outdoors!

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, June 3, 27 1/2 weeks.

8 Responses to “26 weeks”

  1. babylute2013 May 27, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    What a blessing to have hand me down maternity clothes. I too just received some from a friend last week! It pays to have others go before us!

    • kaylabee18 June 12, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

      So true. I would have gone broke buying a large enough variety of clothes to make myself feel good for work and for casual stuff at home. Thank goodness for those before us!

  2. katielookingforward May 28, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    You look wonderful! I’ve read through your updates each week but it seems like this week you’ve really popped!

    • kaylabee18 June 12, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      You’re not the first one to say that. 🙂 I hope that’s a good thing!

      • katielookingforward June 13, 2013 at 8:59 am #

        Ha ha, I was a little afraid you’d be offended, but really you do look amazing!

      • kaylabee18 June 26, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

        None taken whatsoever. 🙂

  3. thebabydoctorswife May 31, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    You look so great! How awesome about your new wardrobe. I wish I knew someone who had some I could borrow. It’s crazy that some of my maternity stuff it getting tight! I too have an anterior placenta, and just in the last weeks my hubby and step-kids have been able to feel her kick. She kicks non-stop it feels like! It is so cool!

    • kaylabee18 June 12, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

      If we lived closer, I’d let you borrow my stuff. It really is a godsend.

      I’m so glad to hear the kicks are getting strong enough for you all to feel them. Today, the girls’ kicks are so strong, I can really SEE the ripples. It’s totally bizarre.

Leave a Reply

