25 weeks

19 May

Written Friday, May 17, 2013

25 Cauliflower fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as rutabagas or cauliflower this week, measuring about 13 1/2 inches, head to heel, and weighing 1 1/2 pounds.

How I’m Changing

Growing rapidly (though not putting on any additional weight) and tiring easily (though not forcing me into bed early).

My body, although designed and built to bear children, is not used to this additional weight and extra strain on muscles and joints.

It hurts, or rather, is uncomfortable, to sit down, stand up, roll over, bend over and turn from side to side. My belly aches sometimes. My back and tailbone – and even my sciatic nerve on occasion – hurt all the time. My hands and feet swell in the warmer, more humid weather lately, too.

It’s tough to walk hike, too. (We got out on the trails a lot this past week!) My lungs strain to keep up with my legs, and I’m huffing and puffing in no time.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

As a result of my body changing so quickly and my wardrobe being unable to keep up, I am so self conscious.

For the first time this entire pregnancy, I really miss my old self – my old life, my old habits, my old body. I miss running. I miss going out for $1.99 margaritas on sunny afternoons. I miss wearing shorts and tank tops that flattered my smaller frame.

Instead, I feel not ugly – Never in a million years! I wear this belly like a badge! – but just…blah. I can’t even describe it.

Pregnancy really is amazing; I have to pinch myself sometimes, just to remind myself that it’s real. But pregnancy is physically, mentally and emotionally demanding, too.

I hope this self-conscious phase just an in-between phase. Thank God for Christopher. My darling husband always knows the right thing to say to make me laugh or smile and just feel a little better.

25 Cauliflower profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 24lbs.

  • Workouts: Four – 3-mile hike, 2.5-mile walk/hike, 15 min. strength training and 1.5-mile walk.

  • Food aversions: None.

  • Food cravings: Turkey sandwiches.

  • Cravings satisfied: One – for Greek food. I had a gyro from Sowbelly’s on Saturday.

  • Maternity items purchased: One – a nightgown from Goodwill.

  • Baby items purchased: One – a cute onesie from Goodwill.

  • Mother’s Day gifts received: Tickets to “Wicked” in Madison in June!

  • House projects worked on: Several. We started to clean the basement carpet. My dad fixed our leaky kitchen faucet. He also looked at our broken washer, but couldn’t fix it; we’re likely going to buy a new washer and dryer when we move. We also planned for staining the changing table, dresser and gliders. I also packed a few random things.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, June 3, 27 1/2 weeks.

4 Responses to “25 weeks”

  1. babylute2013 May 20, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    You look just beautiful! I’m sorry you are feeling “blah” about your changing body. I can relate to this – I go through ups and downs emotionally about my body too. My mom put it a good way, “this is just one of the many sacrifices you are going to make for your child(ren).” Remember, pregnancy is temporary, and post-baby you will feel light and great!! Keep your chin up because pregnancy is a wonderful thing and you pull it off beautifully!

    • kaylabee18 May 22, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

      Thanks, hon. You’re so sweet. And yes, chin is up and looking to the finish line. 🙂

  2. thebabydoctorswife May 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    You look amazing! I can totally relate to the mixed body image feelings. Some days I feel like a cute pregnant girl, but more of them I feel just fat and self-conscious of my acne and dark line forming on my belly. Yesterday I totally was being emotional about it and didn’t even want to get in my bathing suit. I am certainly noticing that I am gaining weight in my thighs, hips, arms and face as well as my belly. I also never had cellulite EVER and am totally getting it. I hope it goes away after she is born. Overall I am enjoying being pregnant, but some days it is hard to not be able to do or wear the things we used to. Of course we both know it is SO worth it, but it is nice to be able to express our feelings to each other. oxoxxoxo

    • kaylabee18 May 22, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

      Thanks, dear! That’s the whole point of this blog and blog friends, right? Honesty and camaraderie! My body image feelings have been much better this week, thanks to some new clothing options, but they aren’t going away…maybe ever. People talk about body after baby, but your body never really returns to it’s original state; you’re a whole different person because of pregnancy. Your body and mind are different, and that’s OK, just something we’ll have to learn to accept and embrace.

Leave a Reply

