24 weeks

13 May

Written Friday, May 10, 2013

24 - Corn fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as cantaloupes or as long as ears of corn this week, measuring about 12 inches, head to heel, and weighing more than a pound.

How I’m Changing

I’m growing, growing, growing!

I pretty much have nothing to wear… The long-sleeve tops I wore a couple months ago are tight in the arms, chest and belly and just a wee bit too short. They’ll probably make do for another week or two, if necessary. The pants I have – all maternity style – still fit, though, except my partial-panel black dress pants. They fit, but barely; the waistband folds down and gets all rumpled up.

I can’t wait to see my cousin next weekend and snag some of her spring and summer maternity clothes. It’ll be like shopping without spending any money!

I’m also tiring out and forgetting things more easily – at least from a work perspective.

I worked some pretty packed, long days this week (and took care of tons of doctor and house-related things), and they kicked my butt. I also had one correction and two clarifications this week, and they just reminded me that my brain isn’t 100 percent where it was before the two munchkins in my belly captured it.

I can’t wait until things settle down, although, I don’t think that will be for a while, as doctor appointments will only become more frequent and house-related errands, paperwork and a move will come sooner rather than later.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

First, a quick update:

On the doctor front: We saw our new obstetrician Monday, and we are so glad we switched doctors. His bedside manner is so different; he talked to us (rather than to my chart), asked questions and had taken time to read my chart and test results beforehand.

He said our ultrasounds thus far show “excellent” growth – he used the word “perfect” a couple times — and he had us cancel our follow-up ultrasound in Rockford on May 16, in favor of coming back to him for another ultrasound and my glucose test June 3.

He also talked to us about labor, delivery and pain-management options, and, unlike our previous doc, said our desired birth is definitely possible, just not a guarantee.

On the house front: We resubmitted our (lower) offer on the house last Friday and got bank approval Monday. We since have submitted our loan application and tons of other paperwork, gotten a closing cost estimate and lined up homeowners’ insurance. We’re just waiting on a closing and move-in date.

Now, a couple stories:

My first ‘Are you pregnant?’ moment:  I interviewed the principal of the local high school for a story Wednesday afternoon. He’s a young guy, married with a few kids, based on the ring on his finger and the pictures in his office. We chatted for about a half-hour, then, as we were leaving his office, standing in front of a couple secretaries, it happened: He asked me, sort of point blank and without much hesitation, if congratulations were in order. I said they were, that we were expecting in August. He asked if it was our first, and I said they were our first two. He replied that he too has twin girls.

I guess I was just so impressed that my first ‘Are you pregnant?’ came from a man. He must have been pretty confident he was right, because if he had been wrong, then he would have been mighty embarrassed. I think I was more shocked and embarrassed, given how red and flushed my face felt at that moment.

I interviewed two retiring junior-high teachers the next morning. They both noticed right away, offering me an office chair rather than a student desk.

Can’t hide it anymore, eh? It’s probably time to send an e-mail to my primary sources, letting them know that come the late summer, I won’t be around…

My first hormone-induced meltdown: As I pulled into the driveway after a long, busy day at work Thursday, I noticed the cables that usually are screwed up against the siding of the house now were detached and laying in the bushes and down the sidewalk. I let Dexter out and fed him, then heated up some soup for myself, sat down on the couch and opened up my laptop. I couldn’t get online – not through our connection, not through the neighbor’s, not through anywhere. I thought it must be because those cables were down, so I ventured outside to take a look at them. After a quick glance, I headed back up our sidewalk and up the front steps. I tripped over the downed cable, spilled my soup (which I had carried outside with me), banged up my toe, scraped my knees and bumped my belly. I hurt. I had no more soup. I was worried about the babies. So, I cried.

A few minutes later, I called Christopher. He assured me everything was fine, that maybe I should just relax and not worry about the stuff I wanted to/needed to get done. But I wanted him to come home. I wanted him to hold me and be with me. I don’t even know why. So, I cried harder.

It was my first real, unexplainable emotional hang-up so far this pregnancy. I normally wouldn’t react that way, so I blame my hormones.

Honestly, it felt good to cry – even for just 60 seconds. But it felt so silly to react so melodramatically to something so…small.

24 - Corn profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 24lbs.

  • Workouts: Four – 3.5-mile outdoor walk, 1.66-mile outdoor walk + strength training; 1.25-mile outdoor walk and a 1.5-mile outdoor walk.

  • Food aversions: None, although my co-worker had a sandwich this afternoon that smelled of onions, and it made my turn up my nose.

  • Food cravings: Nothing specific, although Mexican and Greek food has sounded good lately.

  • Cravings satisfied: One – for root beer floats. I’ve had three or four in the last week.

  • Maternity items purchased: None.

  • Baby items purchased: None – unless you count the fabric we picked out to make new cushions for the gliders, one of which will go in the nursery; or the changing table (that used to be mine) my mom brought down.

  • Childbirth classes taken: One.

  • Milwaukee Brewers losses watched: Four in a row to the St. Louis Cardinals.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, June 3, 27 1/2 weeks.

5 Responses to “24 weeks”

  1. beckykearney May 14, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    What is it about those rootbeer floats? I could have one everyday I think…

    • kaylabee18 May 22, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

      Oh, so good! Also, chocolate sodas — chocolate syrup + ice cream + seltzer/club soda. Ooooooh yeah!

      • beckykearney May 22, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

        Chocolate Sodas?!?! I have never heard of this, but thinking I need to find out for myself what they are like… very soon! 🙂

  2. babylute2013 May 17, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    It’s sort of a shocking moment when a stranger notices you are pregnant. How nuts that it was a guy for you. I thought guys NEVER ask unless they were told, haha! I actually just had my first “when are you due?” from a stranger yesterday. It was a lady cashier at Walgreens. I was so caught off guard, because no stranger has ever noticed or asked me before! I was excited!

    • kaylabee18 May 22, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

      I was totally blown away that it was a guy who noticed and had the gumption to say something! It was kinda neat, though. Awkward, but neat.

Leave a Reply

