23 weeks

5 May

Written Friday, May 3, 2013

23 - Mango fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as grapefruits or mangoes this week, measuring more than 11  inches, head to heel, and weighing more than a pound.

(The mangoes, and the grapefruits, had we bought those, seem much too small compared to the squash of last week… Discuss.)

How I’m Changing

More of the same, really:

I can feel the babies move pretty frequently now. I actually felt A LOT late Thursday night – enough that if Christopher had been home, he might have been able to feel it from the outside.

I’m hungry and thirsty all the time, but I fill up so easily and quickly can become uncomfortable. I’m also doomed to have heartburn and gas (Just being honest…) no matter when, how much or what I eat or drink. I’m craving a lot of light, fresh, summery foods now, though, so maybe the injection of more fresh fruits and veggies will help with those less than attractive symptoms.

I’m sleeping decently, although I had a rough go of it early this week because of the heat and humidity, and again last night because, with the windows open, the temperature drop caused me to tighten up.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

The big thing for me this week was an overwhelming feeling of self-consciousness. I feel like everyone is staring at me.

It’s especially bad at work – not amongst my immediate coworkers (Shout out to Davey for reading the blog!) – but amongst those in other departments. The receptionist and those who fill in for her, the circulation guys who walk around the office all the time, the women from accounting…I walk past, and I feel their eyes on me.

Being pregnant is hard enough. You don’t really feel like yourself. You can’t do the same things, eat the same things or walk the same way. Your clothes don’t fit. You’re too hot, too cold. Your back hurts, your chest hurts. You’re forgetful.

Having everyone you come into contact with stare at you only makes it worse.

In the beginning, everyone would ask how I was feeling – which was sweet but quickly got old. Then, more recently, everyone would remark how I was not big enough to be carrying twins – and halfway through my pregnancy. Now, everyone has taken to staring.

I’m confident that in those three (likely soon to be more) phases of “pregnancy reaction,” people meant well, but how can they not understand or know that the third reaction (the staring) only serves to make me (the pregnant, suddenly different version of her old self) more self-conscious?

What? Do I have something on my clothes? Are my boobs showing too much in this top? Do I look tired? Do I look pained? Did you notice that I farted? Did I burp too loudly?

Like I said, I’m sure people mean well, but I’ll be glad when this phase passes. Although, the next reaction – the compulsion to touch my belly and subsequently give me and my husband unsolicited parenting advice – might send me over the edge…

23 - Mango profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 21 lbs.

  • Workouts: Three – 3.5-mile outdoor walk (with a pit stop for ice cream), 1.5-mile outdoor walk and a 2-mile outdoor walk.

  • Food aversions: Pasta. It’s not so much that I’m averse to it, but more so that I’m burned out on it.

  • Food cravings: Fresh, summery foods! And root beer floats.

  • Maternity items purchased: None. Today, my mom brought me a light dress for the warmer temps, though. And in a couple weeks, my cousin will be giving me some of her spring/summer maternity clothes.

  • Baby items purchased: One gently used Bumbo seat with tray, several onesies and a couple of lighter-weight sleepers.

  • Varieties of tea ordered from Teavana for making iced tea this summer: Three.

  • Rummage sales visited over the weekend: Four.

  • Money spent on baby things at the rummage sales: $18. (See above.)

  • Days of 80-degree weather (barely) survived: Three.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, 23 1/2 weeks.

2 Responses to “23 weeks”

  1. Wendy Wade May 5, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    You are beautious girl!! I took pics every week when I was pregnant with my last 2 and it is a wonderful thing to look back on! I’m glad that you are doing it and you will be too!

    • kaylabee18 May 12, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      Thanks, Wendy! I know I will be glad to have them, too. I learned that from my other mom friends. And I can’t wait to show the girls when they’re old enough to understand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

