20 weeks

16 Apr

Sorry for the belated writing and posting of this entry. We had another busy, but fun-filled weekend, this time back home in Wisconsin, and we pushed posting the blog to the back burner.

Written Tuesday, April 16, 2013

20 Bananas fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as long as bananas this week, measuring about 6 1/2 inches from head to bottom, and 10 inches from head to heel.

How I’m Changing

We’ve reached the halfway point!

Remember all my complaints last week about being uncomfortable, mostly while sleeping? Well those complaints are gone this week. I slept pretty pain-free most days.

Those gripes about heartburn and allergies, though? Still going strong. I think those are my main aggravations right now.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

I thought instead of trying to recall how I was feeling and what I was thinking last week, I would post this cute baby survey that has made its way through the blog world.

About Me

Name? Kayla

Age? 28 (on Thursday)

Height? 5’4”

Hair color? Blonde

Eye color? Blue

About the Father

Name? Christopher

Age? 33

Height? 5’8”

Hair color? Brown

Eye color? Hazel/brown

About My Pregnancy

Is this your first pregnancy? Yes.

When did you find out you were pregnant? Officially, Dec. 25. Unofficially, Dec. 22.

Was it planned? Absolutely!

What was your first reaction? I had a hunch, so I took a pregnancy test a couple days early on Dec. 22. The line was so faint. We celebrated Christmas back home in Wisconsin, then I took another test when we got home Dec. 25. The line was definitely darker. Christopher and I smiled and laughed and hugged each other for a good long time. I think we both got a little teary-eyed, too.

Who was with you when you found out? Christopher.

Who was the first person you told? Christopher let the cat out of the bag to two good friends, and I slipped to my cousin and a good friend. We waited until we got our first sonogram to tell our parents. We had the ultrasound tech print three copies of the picture (which revealed twins) and mailed each one in a frame to our parents, then we waited for the phone calls.

How did your parents react? Everyone was surprised, first, and excited, second.

How far along are you? 20 1/2 weeks

What was your first symptom? Cramps and queasiness.

What is your due date? Aug. 30, 2013 – if we make it to then!

Do you know the sex of the baby babies? Yes! We are having two little girls!

Have you picked out names? I think so…but we have not yet totally committed to them. We are going to explore our options a bit over the next couple months.

How much weight have you gained? About 14 1/2 lbs.

Do you have stretch marks? None from pregnancy.

Have you felt the baby babies move? Yes, I think so, but I still have a hard time distinguishing movement from other internal goings-on.

Have you heard the heartbeats? Yes, a few times – once at our first appointment, when we found out we were having twins, and two more times at our next appointments. We heard them again at our 20-week ultrasound: 153 and 157 bpm.

About the Baby Babies

Will you keep the baby babies? Of course!

Home or hospital birth? Hospital.

Natural or medicated birth? I’d like to have a natural birth, but I know having twins presents its own set of challenges, so I’m not 100 percent committed to the idea; I want to see how I feel and what happens on D-Day (delivery day).

Who will be in the delivery room with you? Christopher.

Will you breastfeed? Absolutely. I’m already mentally preparing myself, so I go into it with the utmost confidence, in hopes it goes well.

Do you think you’ll need a C-section? I hope not, but again, I know having twins has challenges – and many, many twin births involve a C-section of at least one of the babies.

Will you cry when you hold the baby babies for the first time? Probably.

What’s the first thing you might say to him or her? I’m sure we’ll coo and say, “hello,” and tell them we love them.

Would you let someone videotape the birth? No, but I hope Christopher is able to sneak some photos, so we have them for our own, personal memories.

Are you excited or scared about the birth? I’m excited but scared. I really, really hope to deliver naturally, that is, with as little pain medication as possible, and without a C-section, but I also want to safely deliver healthy babies – and if that means drugs and surgery, then it means throwing my hopes out the window and going with the recommendations of my doctor.

I’m excited to meet our babies, to see what they look like and how they act. I’m excited to watch Christopher become a daddy and to let myself become a mommy. And I’m excited to make memories as a family of four.

But I’m scared something still could go wrong between now and then. I’m scared we’ll have fussy, inconsolable babies. And I’m scared we’ll struggle to become parents, who trust themselves and know what is best for their children.

20 Bananas profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 14.5 lbs.

  • Workouts: Five – a 3.25-mile outdoor walk; 30 min. tennis + 1 hour raking lawn and pruning plants; a 3-mile outdoor walk; 10 min. prenatal yoga + 20 min. prenatal strength training; and a 1-mile outdoor walk

  • Food aversions: Nothing really.

  • Food cravings: Cheez-Its and cherry pie.

  • Baby items purchased: None.

  • Maternity items purchased: None.

  • Heartbeats heard: Two!

  • In-utero baby pictures and videos taken: Dozens!

  • Girls’ names discussed: The same two we’ve discussed for a while.

  • Nursery themes discussed: Two.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Tuesday, 21 1/2 weeks, for a Level 2 ultrasound/anatomy scan.
2 Responses to “20 weeks”

  1. thebabydoctorswife May 2, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    I just stumbled upon your blog! So cute!!! I am 20 weeks now with ONE baby and am so impressed with how great you look carrying two. If you get a chance, check out my blog!

    http://www.thebabydoctorswife.wordpress.com

    • kaylabee18 May 12, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Aw thanks, hon. I’m sorry it took me so long to reply, but I have been reading your blog since you commented here. I love it. You are so adorable and looking fabulous. Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

