19 weeks

7 Apr

Written Friday, April 5, 2013

19 Tomato fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as mangoes or heirloom tomatoes this week, measuring about 6 inches and weighing about 8 1/2 ounces.

How I’m Changing

This week, I definitely felt baby movements – just little pokes or jabs on one side or the other that last maybe a few seconds at a time.

The last couple days of this week brought major belly, back and hip discomfort. Getting up from sitting or laying down is really tough. (Getting out of bed is the most painful). Walking sometimes is slow going. But sleeping is by far the most uncomfortable.

I’ve tried everything – a small pillow between my knees, a longer body pillow between my knees and hugged to my chest – and nothing seems to make it better. I switch sides and sometimes still lay on my back, just to keep things moving so they don’t stiffen up. But I still wake up with intense lower back and hip pain.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking

Physically, I’m hitting another growth spurt, which I think is the reason for my discomfort lately. I’m also experiencing mega pregnancy heartburn/acid reflux, almost no matter what I eat or drink. I’m feeling a little under the weather, too, which I think is because of high allergen counts and changing weather.

Mentally and emotionally, I’m anxious about being unprepared. We haven’t registered for gifts. We haven’t heard anything about our house, so we don’t know where we’ll be living or when or where we can set up a nursery.

We just take one week at a time, so most baby-related things are out of sight, out of mind…still. I have this underlying sense of urgency, but I also have this sense of chill, because things will happen when they’re supposed to happen…right?

19 Tomato profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 12.5 lbs.

  • Workouts: Seven! (Holy cow! One every day!) – 3.25-mile outdoor walk; 3-mile outdoor walk (+ a trip to the dog park); 30 min. tennis; 1-mile outdoor walk; 30 min. prenatal workout video; 3.25-mile outdoor walk; 1+ hour raking lawn.

  • Food aversions: Asian food.

  • Food cravings: Italian beef sandwiches.

  • Baby items purchased: None.

  • Maternity items purchased: None.

  • Milwaukee Brewers games watched/listened to: Two.

  • Milwaukee Brewers shirts that no longer fit: Three, at least.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, 19 1/2 weeks.

4 Responses to “19 weeks”

  1. Shannon April 7, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    I love these posts! I look forward to seeing what you’ll be holding up as a size comparison each time, and I only wish I had thought to do this. lol Anyway, this is such an exciting time for you. Congratulations!

    • kaylabee18 April 23, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      Thanks, Shannon. That means a lot. It’s a fun little game for us, too, trying to guess what the fruit or vegetable will be…and imagining that something that large is in my belly. 🙂

  2. Jane April 7, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    Did you get your hair cut too? It is super cute!

    • kaylabee18 April 23, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

      I did, thanks! I don’t think I had had my hair cut in well over a year, so it was time.

Leave a Reply

