17 weeks

25 Mar

Sorry for the belated posting of this entry. We had a busy, but fun-filled weekend, and we pushed taking photos and posting the blog to the back burner.

Written Friday, March 22, 2013

17 - Onion fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as turnips or onions this week, measuring about 5 inches and weighing about 5 ounces. It’s really hard to believe they are that big!

How I’m Changing

No major physical changes this week, except a growing awareness of my growing belly. I notice it most when I lean against the bathroom sink or carry the laundry basket; I notice it, too, when I sit down, of course, but not nearly as much as in the other instances.

Still no baby movement. I’m really getting anxious to feel something.

How I’m Feeling/What I’m Thinking*

I’m generally feeling pretty good, physically, save for some severe tailbone/lower back pain a couple days, some annoying headaches/neck aches a couple days and some trouble getting comfortable sleep.

I’m feeling pretty decent, mentally and emotionally, too, but it was a rough week.

We got the results of our quad screen the other day – negative for Down syndrome and neural tube defects and inconclusive for trisomy 18. We totally understand that the test is not the best, especially in the case of a twin pregnancy, but we are pretty relieved.

I had a long, busy work week (two weeks, actually) that sapped a lot of my time and energy. I actually found myself stressed out and a little irritated talking and hearing about baby stuff and pregnancy this past week, because I was so focused on getting through the work week(s). I feel really bad saying that, as I know carrying these babies is an honor and a privilege. But I also don’t feel that bad, because I believe incubating two tiny humans is not my sole purpose; I am a wife and journalist, too, and those jobs deserve my time and attention.

I don’t say any of that to hurt anyone’s feelings or to belittle their excitement or curiosity. What it boils down to is that we are just trying to get through each day, one at a time. We’ve got a lot of balls in the air.

I just want to remain calm, happy and healthy in the face of all these changes. And I know Christopher wants that for himself, too. We have 5 months left of life as a couple, life without children, life as we know it, and we deserve to enjoy it without too much added stress.

17 - Onion profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 6-7 lbs.

  • Workouts: Four – vacuuming and mopping; 2.4-mile treadmill run/walk; 30 min. total-body elliptical workout + strength training; vacuuming and 50 min. prenatal pilates.

  • Late nights worked: Two.

  • Food aversions: None.

  • Food cravings: White cheddar shells and cheese. Grilled hot dogs. Hard apple cider.

  • Baby items purchased: None.

  • Maternity items purchased: Two. Neither is truly maternity, though. I got a dress and skirt on clearance that will give me a couple more options for work this spring…if it ever gets warm.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, April 8, 19 1/2 weeks.

*I’m eliminating the “What I’m Eating” category, since the food cravings and aversions have significantly subsided.

4 Responses to “17 weeks”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd March 26, 2013 at 5:44 am #

    There’s my daughter! I miss seeing you. I want to caution you that your food aversions may make an appearance in a couple of months. The babies will begin to interfere with your digestive tract and you’ll probably experience a bunch of heartburn. You’ll start thinking of food that will minimize that upset. I love you. I wish I could give you that good night of sleep or take away any worries you may be having (I will do whatever I can). It is really important that you and Christopher remember your life as a couple, first and enjoy this little bit of time before the babies come.

    • kaylabee18 March 26, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      Thanks, mom. It’s really important to me that Christopher and I enjoy this time as just the two of us, because it not only sets the tone for how our relationship will be after the babies are here, but also sets an example for our children of a healthy, happy, loving relationship. 🙂

  2. beckykearney March 26, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    I really enjoy following your blog, especially since our pregnancy timelines are so close! I agree with you about noticing my belly the most when carrying the laundry and leaning over to wash my hands at the sink. I’ve actually started asking my husband to carry the baskets to the laundry room for me.

    Also, grilled hotdogs, yum… that sounds amazing! 🙂

    • kaylabee18 April 23, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      I love reading yours, too. I’m so glad you started following me, so I could follow you back. It’s nice to know someone else is going through the same stuff I am, even if we are states apart.

Leave a Reply

