16 weeks

17 Mar

Written Friday, March 15, 2013

Avocado fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as avocados this week, measuring about 4 1/2 inches and weighing 3 1/2 ounces.

How I’m Changing

Lots of growing and stretching going on here! I am very, very aware of my lower abdomen. Every time I bend over, twist or turn, I feel things. Even sitting still at work or on the couch, I feel things.

No baby movement – not even the swimming goldfish or fluttering butterflies – yet, though.

What I’m Eating

My diet has been pretty boring the last couple weeks. Breakfast continues to be cereal and milk; lunch has been sandwiches or salads; and dinner has been any number of pre-planned and prepared meals, mostly comfort food pumped up with veggies. My snacks are yogurt and fruit, string cheese and granola bars.

My desire to go out to eat instead of cook at home has subsided, which is good for my health and good for our wallet. But, we still like to grab a bite at a restaurant once a week or so.

What I’m Thinking

I spent most of tonight working on our registry – compiling notes and recommendations from several friends and cross referencing things with online reviews – and I finished most of it.

Christopher and I are headed to a baby consignment sale in Rockford tomorrow (Saturday) to hunt for some gear. We visited a similar sale last Saturday and while we didn’t find any gear, we snagged several gender-neutral onesies and sleepers. I know both of our mothers have bought their fair share of things, too.

I can’t wait to learn the genders, so we can really make some decisions and spread the word about the things we want and need for our babies.

But as excited as I am for that, I am nervous about the results of our latest tests – the quad screen, which looks for markers of four genetic disorders, including Down syndrome. We don’t have anything to be worried about: We’re young, we’re healthy and our babies will be, too. But in a way, we do have something to be worried about: The screen is notoriously inaccurate, even more so with a twin pregnancy, so the results could be very inconclusive. I thought we might get the results today, but nothing…

Avocado profile

  • Weight gained (to date): 4 lbs.

  • Workouts: Five! – 2.25-mile outdoor run; 30 min. elliptical + strength training; 50 min. total-body prenatal workout video; 1-mile outdoor walk; 2-mile outdoor run.

  • Food aversions: None, really, though I haven’t wanted a salad in a while.

  • Food cravings: Nothing specific this week.

  • Baby items purchased: Several thrifted onesies and sleep sacks and two Aden + Anais swaddle blankets.

  • Maternity items purchased: None.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Monday, April 8, 19 1/2 weeks.

Leave a Reply

