12 weeks

17 Feb

Written Friday, Feb. 15, 2013

Plum fetuses

How Big are the Babies?

My sources say the babies are as big as eggs or plums this week, measuring more than 2 inches long and weighing about half an ounce.

How I’m Changing

I still haven’t gained any weight, but I am much more comfortable in loose, stretchy clothing. I bought a pair of maternity jeans on super clearance ($6.80, regularly $68) at Kohl’s and wore them today; I am in love. I don’t have a bump, but I love the stretchy belly panel.

I still had a little pregnancy sickness this week, but I am feeling much, much better and more like myself more often than not.

What I’m Eating

The Cheerios love affair continues. We (alright, I) went through a gallon of milk in a week; we usually buy a half-gallon and sometimes have to force ourselves to finish it before it expires.

Fruit, including blackberries, strawberries and pineapple – especially when paired with Greek yogurt – continued to be a part of my diet. Salads made a few appearances in my lunches

Comfort foods, especially pizza and pasta, still are the most desirable meals. I did successfully have sushi (cooked!) Tuesday and a fish fry Wednesday, though.

What I’m Thinking

I’m most focused right now on life after babies. Christopher and I met with our human resources director to discuss leave and benefits, and we got a rude awakening: I am not eligible for FMLA because I have not been with the paper for a year and amassed 1,250 hours. I will have to take a personal leave of absence, instead. We now need to decide how much time to take, how we’ll manage two infants on little sleep and half our income, where we’ll take them for care when (if?) I return to work.

It’s all so overwhelming and scary. I know I need not worry: We have five parents who would, at the drop of a hat, help us in any way necessary. We have gracious and understanding bosses who likely will be flexible in the beginning, as we get our footing as parents. And we have each other. But I can’t help but worry a little – and want to figure out how things might look come this winter.

Plum profile

  • Weight gained: 0 lbs.

  • Workouts: Two– one elliptical workout and one 2-mile treadmill run.

  • Food aversions: No hard and fast aversions, still mostly foods that don’t sound all that good.

  • Food cravings: Cheerios and milk. Blackberries and strawberries. Cottage cheese.

  • Baby items purchased: Still none.

  • Maternity items purchased: A pair of maternity jeans and a new bra.

  • Next prenatal appointment: Tuesday, 12 ½ weeks.

2 Responses to “12 weeks”

  1. Blogging Runner February 17, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    You look great!

Leave a Reply

