With a little help from my friends

24 May

Meet my best friend, Adam:

2007-08-12abscenic

Adam and I met through mutual friends in June 2004. We hit it off and spent much of the night talking and laughing. But Adam and I did not reconnect until almost a year later. We would spend the next three years side by side.

100_1314

100_1494

We traveled together.

100_6859

100_5936

We lived together.

DSCF0206

Gwen and Algy

We worked together.

P1380134

We helped each other through thick and thin, good times and bad times.

Adam and I haven’t lived in the same city, let alone within 100 miles of each other, in almost four years. But we have remained close. We might not see each other very often, we might not talk or e-mail very often, but we still hold each other close.

Adam is going through a transformative, life-changing experience; he is beginning a gender transformation to hopefully become the person he was meant to be all along. He has spent literally every last penny to get the process started, but he still has many more months of doctor appointments, evaluations and other work ahead and no longer can afford these very important and necessary steps.

I cannot physically be there with him and for him as he travels this sometimes dark and lonely path; I ache to help him, my best friend through everything for almost all of my adult life so far. But I can emotionally be there for him and financially support him. And so can you.

If you are so inclined, read his story, in his own words (He’s a mighty talented writer.), and pledge even just $5 to help him become the person he is supposed to be, inside and out.

I love you, Adam. I hope you find joy, comfort and peace through this process. And I hope you know I am so, so proud of you—today and always.

2 Responses to “With a little help from my friends”

  1. Jacky Hackett May 24, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    Wow, what an amazing journey. I hope it leads him to the place he needs to be, no doubt it will. Best of luck to Adam!

    • kaylabee18 June 3, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you, Jacky. I am praying every day he finds peace and joy at the end of this long road.

Leave a Reply

