Awesome slow-cooked applesauce

27 Sep

We’ve discovered a few perks to living in a house, rather than an apartment, including a fairly sizeable yard complete with two apple trees. I face the trees when I’m sitting at my desk working on my computer, and I recently realized most of the fruit would go to waste unless I started using them for something!

IMG_9434

We have red delicious and golden delicious apples, which sadly are not good for baking—they’re too soft and watery—but thankfully are just fine for applesauce and apple butter.

I decided my first apple concoction would be no-fuss slow-cooked applesauce. I made applesauce on the stovetop a few years ago, but it was a lot of work, so I wanted try using the slow cooker to do most of the work I was delighted when, after only a few hours, my kitchen smelled heavenly and my apples were a mushy, saucy mess.

IMG_9445

Here’s the recipe:

4 small golden delicious apples

3 medium red delicious apples

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons water

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

IMG_9439 (I wish I had a compost bin to throw all those peels in!)

Peel, core and roughly chop apples, taking care to cut away any yucky-looking spots. (I cut them into quarters, and then cut each quarter into thirds.) Place apples into slow cooker.

IMG_9440

Add water, lemon juice and vanilla and stir to coat. Sprinkle on cinnamon and stir to coat again.

IMG_9441

Cover slow cooker and cook on low for about 4-5 hours. Uncover, stir and break apart apple pieces every hour or so. (I was able to break apart and/or mash most apple pieces with a wooden spoon after only about 2 1/2 hours.)

IMG_9442 (The apples after 1 1/2 hours.)

IMG_9443(The apples after 2 1/2 hours.)

IMG_9446 (The apples after 4 1/2 hours, which is when I officially declared applesauce success.)

Transfer applesauce to plastic storage container and allow to cool, then place container in refrigerator.

IMG_9447

The applesauce turned out so well, and the most work I had to do was pick apples off the tree outside and prep them for the slow cooker (which, I’ll admit, is the worst part of the job). It’s perfectly sweet without the addition of any sugar, which I’m so glad about, and it’s smooth without the need for trip through the food processor.

I plan to eat this applesauce plain, as a snack, or on top of oatmeal for breakfast. I’d also love to make potato pancakes sometime soon and put this applesauce on top. Yum!

Happy fall!

What’s your favorite way to use apples? Any other suggestions for red and golden delicious apples, since they aren’t that well suited to baking?

3 Responses to “Awesome slow-cooked applesauce”

  1. Julia September 28, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    That looks great.
    And I love that you didn’t add any sweetener.
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. kaylabee18 October 8, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    You’re welcome. Let me k ow if you get ambitious and try it.

  3. Cassandra October 8, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    You can throw the peels right back on the base of your apple tree. And thank you for sharing. I have a bunch of apples that need to be made into something!

Leave a Reply

