Salty snacks

29 Jul

Pita chips are one of my weaknesses. Crunchy, salty, perfect slathered in hummus. Mmmm.

I buy them once in a while, but I prefer to make them—and season them—myself.

A few weeks ago, I bought two packages of whole-wheat pita bread and made four batches of chips, each a different flavor. This weekend, you can do the same!

Here’s the recipe (which I hesitate to call a recipe, as I believe it’s more of a method):

8 “loaves” whole-wheat pita bread

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons olive oil

Salt

Pepper

Herbs and spices of choice

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

DSCN2183

Cut pita loaves into squares or triangles. Separate any pieces with a “seam.” Lay pieces on greased baking sheet; do not overlap them.

DSCN2192

DSCN2193

Using pastry brush, lightly brush each piece with olive oil. Season generously with salt, pepper and any other spices or herbs of your choice.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until chips are crispy and slightly browned. Let cool and store in plastic storage bags.

DSCN2194

I made four kinds: salted; cheesy, sprinkled with a bit of salt and nutritional yeast; smoky, sprinkled with salt, pepper and Penzey’s Arizona Dreaming spice; and Italian, sprinkled with salt, pepper, oregano and basil.

So easy, so customizable, so yummy.

What’s your favorite salty snack? I like pretzels and kettle chips.

6 Responses to “Salty snacks”

  1. Cait's Plate July 29, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    This post reminded me that I haven’t have pita chips in way too long. I really need to get on that 🙂

  2. fitinthemidwest July 29, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    I love pita chips too. I starred your post in my reader so I can go back and make them sometime. Love Penzey’s Arizona Dreaming–it’d be perfect with pita chips!

  3. kaylabee18 July 30, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    Yay! Have fun making your own.

  4. kaylabee18 July 30, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

    You do! Yummy!

  5. Dan Polley August 1, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Love it.

  6. kaylabee18 August 1, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Pita chips rule. All other chips drool.

Leave a Reply

