Fabulous fish

28 Jul

I try to do a good job of planning meals (dinners, mainly) every week so that I only buy what we need. I actually like grocery shopping, so I easily could spend a lot of time and money there.

This week, frozen cod filets were on sale and name-brand canned tomatoes were cheap. Last week, cauliflower was purchased and not quite used up. A couple weeks ago, bulk millet made its way into my cart.

DSCN2270

I planned a meal for this week featuring the cod—deciding to roast it. I planned a side dish for the cod featuring millet and tomatoes—writing down a couple ideas and running with ‘em.

The end result was a delicious and fairly speedy meal!

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 pound cod filets, thawed

2 teaspoon olive oil

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1 teaspoon olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup millet

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1/2 cup dry white wine (I used Chardonnay.)

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth

1 14-ounce can petite diced tomatoes, drained

1 teaspoon dried parsley (I planned to use fresh parsley from my garden, but I was stopped dead in my tracks by a nasty downpour.)

2 tablespoons chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Place cod filets on greased baking sheet. Rub fillets with 2 teaspoons olive oil, thyme, salt and pepper. Set aside.

DSCN2263

In medium saucepan, heat 1 teaspoon olive oil over medium heat. Sauté garlic and thyme until fragrant. Add millet and cook until glossy and slightly toasted.

DSCN2267 

Add wine and deglaze pan. Add broth and cook about 20-25 minutes, or until millet has absorbed almost all the liquid.

Place baking sheet of cod in oven and roast for about 15 minutes, depending on thickness of fish.

Fluff cooked millet with fork, then add tomatoes and parsley and fluff until evenly distributed. Top millet with chopped walnuts.

DSCN2268

Christopher and I adored the millet; it had excellent flavor from the broth, wine and tomatoes and excellent chew. We liked the fish, but would have roasted it for a few minutes less to retain more of its moisture.

We served up some roasted cauliflower on the side for an extra dose of veggies.

DSCN2269 

Do you plan meals? Any secrets?

We’re having enchiladas tonight…because as I was planning meals, I got this:

tweet

I love my friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

