Tangy tofu

7 Jul

After a weekend of eating my weight in hamburgers, brats and taco dip and drinking my fair share of beer indulging in holiday-appropriate food and drink, I thought it best to “cleanse” a bit Tuesday.

I had loads of fruits and vegetables. I had no meat. I had no dairy. I drank a ton of water, and I made it to the gym. I feel infinitely better.

Breakfast was a smoothie of almond milk, strawberries, cocoa powder, peanut butter and ice. Late-morning snack was celery and hummus. And lunch was salad greens with grilled, marinated tofu, which was extremely flavorful and very satisfying, even after a weekend of overeating.

Here’s the recipe:

1 block firm tofu, drained, lightly pressed and cut into eight slabs

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 tablespoon olive oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoons dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon Penzey’s Chicago steak seasoning

1/2 teaspoon Penzey’s Mural of Flavor

In small bowl, combine lemon juice, olive oil, garlic and spices and whisk until combined.

DSCN2179

In shallow glass dish, lay tofu in single layer and pour marinade over top. Swirl dish to coat tofu with marinade. Let stand about 5 minutes. Flip tofu, swirl dish to coat it with marinade and let stand another 5 minutes.

DSCN2181

DSCN2182

Heat grill and place tofu slabs over flame. Grill 5-8 minutes per side, basting occasionally with any remaining marinade, until tofu begins to brown and show grill marks.

DSCN2185

DSCN2187

DSCN2190 

The tofu was tangy from the lemon juice and very aromatic and flavorful from the Chicago steak seasoning and Mural of Flavor. It was perfect with salad greens and a simple oil-and-vinegar dressing for a bit of light, yet filling protein.

I should have pressed the tofu a bit more, and I should not have flipped it so early; I think both contributed to the falling-apart nature of my tofu. I know better for next time.

How do you recover from a weekend of indulgence?

2 Responses to “Tangy tofu”

  1. Lisa July 7, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    I’m a little freaked out by tofu, but that does look good! I always find that a day or two of healthy eating helps to erase the icky overindulging-holiday feeling!

    • kaylabee18 July 14, 2011 at 11:52 am #

      You are the last person I would suspect of being weirded out by tofu!

Leave a Reply

