Race recap: Race to Taste 5K

30 Jun

Christopher and I spent Saturday and Sunday in Chicago to take in the Taste of Chicago with my dad and brother. I was looking at the event website to see the menu, the price range of items, etc. and I stumbled on the Race to Taste 5K. I texted Chris and e-mailed my dad and asked if we should register for the race and run it; they both were game, so we signed up in person Saturday afternoon.

CIMG0020

The Race to Taste draws more than 1,000 runners, starts and finishes near the historic landmark Buckingham Fountain and winds through beautiful Grant Park and along the Lake Michigan shore.

MAP Race Flyer 2011

We woke up around 7:30 a.m., downed granola bars from our swag bags and walked from our hotel to the park. We waited around a bit and then headed to the starting line and found a place toward the back of the pack.

DSCN2038 

The course immediately left the confines of the park and jogged along bustling Michigan Avenue, but again entered the park, jogged past the Field Museum, wound around Soldier Field and jogged along the lake past the Shedd Aquarium. It was relatively flat and used the path through the park and along the lake. It was beautiful, albeit hot and humid, save for the cool breeze we caught off the lake.

I felt pretty good through the whole race. Christopher and my dad stuck pretty close to me, and I never stopped to walk or catch my breath, only to drink a small cup of water at the halfway mark.

DSCN2039

I crossed at around 34 minutes. I was really pleased with how well I ran, especially since I haven’t run a race since the River Bank Run, since it was hot and humid and since I never stopped to take a break.

We met up with my brother, Kyle, who acted as official race photographer, after we finished, grabbed post-race goodies, including water, Gatorade, bananas and pretzel bagels, and walked back to our hotel. We cleaned up, packed up and stowed our luggage and headed back to the Taste of Chicago to eat our hearts out.

All in all, I was really happy with the race and was glad the three of us decided at the last minute to sign up for it. It was nice to run a short-distance race again! It also was nice to see a course map ahead of time and see clocks (which served as mile markers) along the course, unlike some of the other 5Ks I’ve run recently.

So now, without further ado, here are the details:

Distance: 3.1 miles
Duration: 33:49 chip time (34:35 Nike+ time)
Average pace: 10:53 per mile
Mile 1: 10:37
Mile 2: 10:56
Mile 3: 11:02

I have my eye on a couple other short-distance races this summer, so I hope to have more recaps for you!

2 Responses to “Race recap: Race to Taste 5K”

  1. Ken Bunge July 1, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    What exactly do you think I was looking at in that picture?

Leave a Reply

