Delicious dip

12 Apr

The countdown is on! Amy and I are running a half marathon in just four short days! I can hardly believe it…

I’ve been tapering for more than a week now because I’ve been plagued with a mild cold that’s made it difficult to do much of anything.

I skipped out on my planned 12-miler a couple Sundays ago, rescheduled it for last Thursday and punted on it again. I ran 6 miles on Sunday, struggled to breathe (because of my illness and the out-of-the-blue 75-degree day) but was glad to have another medium-distance run in before the race.

I made a promise to myself that this week I would eat cleanly and healthfully and stay really hydrated in anticipation of the race. I failed yesterday; Chris and I were tired and out of dinner ideas, so we went out for buy-one-get-one-free burgers. But I’m back on track today; I had a pumpkin-oatmeal bake for breakfast, and Greek yogurt and sunflower seeds for a snack.

I also made a big batch of white bean dip–two ways!–to get an extra punch of vegetables and fiber in my diet this week. I plan to eat it with copious amounts of carrots, celery and cucumber.

Here’s the recipe for the spinach white bean dip:

1 (15.5-ounce) can Great Northern beans, drained, liquid reserved

2 tablespoons reserved canning liquid

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 cup spinach

Salt and pepper, to taste

Place beans, canning liquid, olive oil and lemon juice in food processor and pulse until beans start to break apart and form a creamy dip.

Add spinach and process until smooth. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Here’s the recipe for the sun-dried tomato white bean dip:

1 (15.5-ounce) can Great Northern beans, drained, liquid reserved

2 tablespoons reserved canning liquid

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon lemon juice

3 tablespoons chopped sun-dried tomatoes

2 tablespoons tomato paste

Salt and pepper

Place beans, canning liquid, olive oil, lemon juice, sun-dried tomatoes and tomato paste in food processor and pulse until smooth.

This dip was so amazing; I couldn’t believe how creamy and almost cheesy it tasted. I love hummus, but I think I might love white bean dip more. If you don’t love vegetables, you’ll love them with this dip, I promise!

I’ll be back later in the week with a half marathon preview, I hope.

3 Responses to “Delicious dip”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd April 12, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    Very interesting!

  2. ashley April 15, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    this looks so yummy! i’m a horrible cook though lol

Leave a Reply

