Choice chili

5 Apr

I am so proud of this recipe, it’s ridiculous.

Let me explain…

I’ve never been a huge fan of chili. Why? I don’t care for red kidney beans. They’re too large, too tough and too beany. I’m coming around, though, I swear.

I’ve tried recipes for chili, and I’ve subbed black beans for red kidney beans, but I’ve never found a recipe that’s just right.

I pored over a couple basic chili recipes, jotted down some essential ingredients and dove in head spatula first. I tested the chili on a bunch of hungry men (Christopher included) when they visited Muskegon last month for their fantasy baseball draft, received accolades and deemed it the perfect chili recipe.


Here’s the recipe:

1 tablespoon olive oil

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup finely diced onion

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 jalapeno, diced

1 pound ground turkey

1 1/2 tablespoonchili powder

1 1/2 teaspoon cumin

1 1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon allspice

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 bay leaf

6 ounces (1/2 bottle) light beer

1 14.5- or 15-ounce can diced tomatoes, pureed (I used a can of diced tomatoes with chiles in them.)

2 cups vegetable stock

1 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed

2 tablespoons lime juice

Heat oil in a large stock pot over medium-high heat. Saute garlic, onion, bell pepper and jalapeno until fragrant and tender, about 6-8 minutes.

Add turkey and cook until meat is browned.

Add spices and stir until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes.

Add beer, tomatoes and broth. Bring to boil and reduce to simmer. Allow flavors to come together, about 10 minutes.

Add black beans, stir to combine and simmer another 5 minutes.

Squeeze lime juice over top, stir and serve hot with shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, diced onions, sliced avocado, crushed tortilla chips, etc. on top or with sweet cornbread on the side.

What makes this chili so gosh darn delicious? It’s chock full of fragrant veggies–onions, red pepper and jalapeno–warm spices (and no shortage of heat) and chewy black beans. It’s comfort with a kick!

I’ve shared the recipe with Amy and Meredith, and I can’t wait to hear what they think of it when they make it in their own kitchens. I’ve now shared it with you, so you now are obligated to let me know what you think of it.

What’s your favorite thing about chili?

P.S. Look who was waiting for chili to fall from the counter… Do you like his new “outfit”?

4 Responses to “Choice chili”

  1. Amy April 5, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    This chili was theshit.com. That is all. 🙂

  2. andi April 6, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    the chili does look delicious!

    also – hi Dex. cute outfit. 😉 it looks like he’s smiling in anticpation of falling food.

Leave a Reply

