Amazing almond butter

28 Jan

Remember my love for nut butter? And remember my recipe for homemade peanut butter? Throw it out the window!

I got a quick education in making nut butter from this post (and a few others from the same blog), and I attempted a revised (and simplified) recipe the other day.

I present to you… *drum roll* Real, smooth homemade almond butter!

Here’s the recipe:

1-2 cups raw almonds

Salt or sugar, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place raw almonds on a parchment-paper-lined baking sheet and roast for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and fragrant. (I also shook them around a couple times mid-roast.) Let cool for 10 minutes.

IMG_7219

Place roasted almonds in food processor and process until very fine. Scrape down sides of bowl frequently as almonds change in texture as natural oils start to come out. Almonds will turn from crumbs to “wet sand” to butter in about 6-10 minutes, depending on how big and powerful your processor is and how often you stop to scrape the bowl. Be patient.

IMG_7224 (Wet sand)

IMG_7225 (Sticky wet sand)

IMG_7226 (Sticky, yet oily wet sand)

IMG_7227 (Smooth, creamy butter)

Taste butter and add salt or sugar, if desired. (I added just 1 teaspoon of sugar to sweeten my butter a bit.)

Simple right? You can do this. And you can make this recipe (or my adapted version below) for no-bake almond butter chews and gobble up these little balls of heaven whenever your little heart desires.

IMG_7244

Here’s the recipe:

1/4 cup almond butter

2 1/2 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup crispy rice cereal (such as Rice Krispies)

1 tablespoon mini chocolate chips or chopped chocolate

Place almond butter, honey and vanilla in a medium-sized microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 35-45 seconds, remove and stir to combine.

IMG_7243

IMG_7246

Add crispy rice cereal and chocolate and stir to coat.

IMG_7249

Grab a bit of the mixture and shape into a golf ball-sized ball. (I get eight from every batch.) Place chews in refrigerator to set. (I keep them in the fridge in a plastic zipper bag and grab as needed.)

IMG_7250

These little treats are sweet from the honey and buttery from the almond butter; slightly crunchy from the cereal, yet chewy from the honey-almond butter combination. And they’re less than 100 calories! Score and double score!

I made a batch with dried blueberries instead of chocolate chips, and I was so delighted with the delicate flavor and chewiness of the fruit. I have plans to adapt this with other fun mix-ins.

These chews are the best pre- and post-run snack! I think I’ll make them to carry on long runs as half marathon training amps up soon.

P.S. Check out my super-cool apron…

IMG_7222

I’ve got a couple chapters of my book to read as well as a Muskegon Lumberjacks game to listen to tonight.

What are you up to?

2 Responses to “Amazing almond butter”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd January 29, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    All of this looks really wonderful and I will definitely try the butter and recipe. Your apron is super cute!!!

    • kaylabee18 February 3, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

      I think you’d really like almond butter. I LOVE it and you can mix it up and flavor it up all different ways — especially with that awesome new food processor you have!

Leave a Reply

