Packed peppers

18 Jan

Christopher requested stuffed green peppers for dinner this week, so I whipped up my usual recipe, taking care to jot everything down so I could share it with you all.

IMG_7217

Here’s the recipe:

2 green peppers, tops cut off, seeds and ribs removed

1 teaspoon olive oil

1/2 pound ground turkey

1/2 cup finely diced onions

1-2 cloves garlic

3/4 cup cooked brown rice (or wheat berries, barley or other small grain)

1/2 tomato sauce (or jarred spaghetti sauce or marinara)

2 tablespoons grated parmesan cheese

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon parsley

1/4-1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1-2 ounces mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and bring large pot of water to boil.

IMG_7207

IMG_7211

Clean peppers, blanch in boiling water for 1 minute and then plunge into cold water. Set aside.

Heat olive oil in a nonstick skillet, add turkey and cook until almost opaque. Add onions and garlic and cook until veggies are translucent and meat is done.

IMG_7209

IMG_7210

Move mixture to bowl (or keep in pan, without heat under it) and mix in rice, half the tomato sauce, parmesan cheese and spices. Distribute stuffing evenly among peppers.

IMG_7212

Place in oven-safe baking dish. Spoon other half of the tomato sauce over stuffed peppers, cover with aluminum foil and bake for about 30 minutes.

IMG_7213

Remove from oven, top with cheese and bake a few more minutes, until cheese is melted and bubbly on top.

IMG_7214

This dish is so simple and so fast; it makes a great busy-weeknight meal. The peppers are tender but crisp. The stuffing is meaty and classically flavored. And the gooey cheese on top makes it all worth it.

We got a bunch of snow and ice last night here along the lakeshore. Most area schools were closed today—including the one that houses my office—so I had my first snow day in years! I filled my unexpected day off with a couple errands, kitchen adventures and laundry… It never fails: my days off are super packed full of stuff that I otherwise would put off, like trying a new baking recipe, painting my nails, balancing my checkbook, etc.

How do you spend your days off?

5 Responses to “Packed peppers”

  1. andionthego January 19, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    ooh, yay for a snow day! sadly, hospitals don’t close (although I keep hoping I’ll get a snow day eventually ;)). glad you were able to have a productive day. ❤

    • kaylabee18 January 20, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      I haven’t had a snow day in, like, forever, so it was nice. 🙂 Miss you!

    • kaylabee18 January 20, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      I haven’t had a snow day in, like, forever, so it was nice. 🙂 Miss you!

  2. Amy January 24, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    These look great but I have a serious question: how do you eat them? Do you eat the stuffing out and then eat the shell? Cut into the shell? I am so clueless–I would love to make something like this but the eating part stops me, haha.

    • kaylabee18 January 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

      Good question! You could do either one, but I prefer to cut the whole thing apart into bite-sized pieces and have a bit of stuffing with a bit of green pepper in every forkful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

