Baked breakfast

8 Jan

Early this morning, I woke up to this:

IMG_7145

IMG_7144

IMG_7143

So a little later this morning, I made this:

IMG_7140

I thought baked oatmeal seemed like the best way to warm the belly and comfort the soul on a cold, crisp winter morning. And I thought right; the oatmeal was tasty—warm, gooey and slightly sweet.

Here’s the recipe (adapted from Quaker):

2 cups old-fashioned oats, uncooked

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 medium banana, mashed

3 cups skim milk

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 teaspoons vanilla

5 tablespoons packed brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray square baking dish or four to five ramekins with nonstick cooking spray.

In large bowl, combine oats, cinnamon and salt. In separate bowl, combine mashed banana, milk, beaten eggs and vanilla. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix until well combined. Pour “batter” into baking dish or distribute “batter” evenly among ramekins.

IMG_7128

Place baking dish or ramekins on baking sheet (to prevent an oven disaster) and place in oven. Bake 30-35 minutes, until moisture is mostly absorbed.

IMG_7130

IMG_7131

Remove from oven, top oats with brown sugar and place under broiler for 2-3 minutes, until sugar is bubbly and melted but not burned. Remove from broiler and let cool a few minutes before serving.

IMG_7133

IMG_7139

I am so pleased with how well this turned out. I used mashed banana instead of white sugar to sweeten the oatmeal and keep it moist and gooey. I added cinnamon for some complexity. And I think I will add chopped nuts for crunch next time. (I had planned on adding chopped almonds, but I forgot them. Oops.)

IMG_7141 (Aren’t these mini casserole dishes adorable? I got ‘em for Christmas from my mom.)

I think baked oatmeal is going to be a part of the regular rotation. I have a hunch Christopher will love it. I just wonder how it will be reheated…

How do you like your oats?

6 Responses to “Baked breakfast”

  1. Libbi January 8, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    yay Mom! this looks and sounds quite yummy !

  2. Young Wifey January 8, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Love the icicle pics! I like my oats in oatmeal chocolate chip cookies 😉

    • kaylabee18 January 12, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      Mmmmmmm. That’s my favorite kind of oatmeal cookie. Forget raisins, bring on the chocolate chips!

  3. Dan January 8, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    I love those casserole dishes!

    • kaylabee18 January 12, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      My mom told me she got them at ShopKo, if you are interested in looking for them sometime.

Leave a Reply

