Losing the leftovers

5 Jan

I’d be willing to bet that many of you had plenty of ham leftover from Christmas dinner. We did. And we brought it home with us, all the way from Wisconsin to Michigan.

Now, you’re probably wondering how two people get through more than 5 pounds of ham before it gets old or goes bad. Well, we froze half of it. And then, we got creative.

We put it on sandwiches.

DSCN1380 (This panino had ham, brie, spinach and bell peppers on it.)

We put it in an egg scramble.

DSCN1352

DSCN1357 (This egg scramble had ham and bell peppers in it.)

And I made a ham and pepper hash.

Here’s the recipe (adapted from Bon Appétit):

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup finely chopped onion

1 1/2 cup chopped bell pepper

1 1/2 cups diced lean ham

3 cups finely julienned potatoes

2 teaspoons dried thyme

3/4 teaspoon Cajun seasoning

Salt and pepper, to taste

IMG_7074 IMG_7076

Clean and chop/slice your vegetables and ham. (I used my new mandolin to thinly julienne the potatoes. Thanks Mom!)

IMG_7078

Melt butter in a large frying pan, add onions and sauté until tender and translucent.

IMG_7079

Add bell peppers and sauté until tender.

IMG_7082 IMG_7083

Add spices, ham and potatoes. Stir/toss to evenly distribute spices, vegetables and ham among potatoes.

IMG_7084

Cover (with a cutting board, if that’s all ya’ got) and let cook until potatoes are tender.

IMG_7085

IMG_7086

Add 1/4-1/2 cup water, if desired, to help potatoes cook. (I did, and I think that while it sped up the process just a bit, it also prohibited the potatoes from getting crispy.)

IMG_7089

I liked this dish because it’s hearty, warm and comforting—perfect for a winter supper. I also liked it because it reheated well; Chrstopher took it for lunch today and really enjoyed it. I think it would be fantastic with cheese on top!

How do you like to use leftover ham?

4 Responses to “Losing the leftovers”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd January 5, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    Woohoo! You used the mandolin and the frying pan I got for you. How wonderful are mandolins???!!!! Did Christopher eat those onions? I am so proud of him for getting more adventurous with the veggies!

    • kaylabee18 January 7, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      I love both my new kitchen things. And yes, Chris ate those onions. I pulverize them in the food processor or mini chopper so they basically flavor the dish and melt into the butter or oil–whatever I’m cooking with. 🙂 I’m proud of him too.

  2. Lisa @Thrive Style January 6, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    All that ham looks good! I think the way I’d be likely to use it would be in bean soup or split pea soup.

    • kaylabee18 January 7, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

      I like navy bean soup, but I dislike peas so much you would never get me to eat split pea soup. But I hear it’s wonderfully ham flavored. 😉 I think I’ll use my frozen ham to make a navy bean soup sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

