Perfect pesto

3 Jan

I love spinach, but I have been sort of down on salads after burning myself out on the same old, boring bowl of greens for lunch so many days while working at the paper.

I buy spinach, though, because it’s so good for me! So, I put it on sandwiches, mix it into eggs or blend it into smoothies (Yes, it tastes good!)…

IMG_7066

IMG_7067 (This one was a mix of Bolthouse Farms Perfectly Protein in mocha cappuccino, spinach and frozen mixed berries. Yum!)

I recently bought two bags of spinach in an effort to detoxify and get back on track after the holidays, but I wanted to do something different with it. So, I made pesto—just substituting spinach for basil.

IMG_7063

I was so tickled with how this turned out (on the first try, no less) that I had to share it with you.

Here’s the recipe:

2 cups spinach

5-7 cloves garlic

1/4 cup roasted, salted cashews (or almonds, walnuts or pine nuts)

1/4 cup + 1/8 cup (3/8 cup) grated parmesan cheese

1/4 cup + 1/8 cup (3/8 cup) olive oil

Salt and pepper, to taste

DSCN1422

Place spinach and garlic in food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Clean the sides of the bowl to make sure all the large pieces of spinach and garlic get chopped up on the next go-‘round.

DSCN1424

DSCN1425

Add nuts and parmesan cheese and pulse until well combined.

IMG_7059

IMG_7060

Add oil and process until smooth. Add salt and pepper, if desired, and process until incorporated.

IMG_7061

IMG_7062

Serve over pasta or store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

IMG_7100

Christopher (who slowly is coming around on more and more veggies every day—I’m so proud!) loved, loved, loved this pesto. He loved it so much, he didn’t even bat an eyelash this afternoon, when I told him I was feeling uninspired and would make this dish for supper again tonight. I love it because it tastes good and packs a nutritional punch.

Try it and let me know what you think!

What do you like to do with spinach—besides make it into a salad?

6 Responses to “Perfect pesto”

  1. Lisa January 3, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    The pesto looks delicious, but I’m totally intrigued by the spinach smoothies and the recipes on the Green Monster site – do you have a favorite??

    • kaylabee18 January 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Did you get my Facebook message about smoothies?

  2. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 3, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    mmm…love pesto! I’ll have to give your recipe a try sometime soon!

    • kaylabee18 January 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Do! Let me know what you think!

  3. Lisa @Thrive Style January 4, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    This looks and sounds awesome! I just tried pesto with cilantro and it was good, but I think spinach would be a good sub for a lot of people or dishes that don’t “want” the tang and bitterness of cilantro!

    ~Lisa

    • kaylabee18 January 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      Yeah, cilantro is a very divisive herb. People who love it love it and people who hate it hate it. There is no in between.

Leave a Reply

