Goals for 2011

1 Jan

Happy New Year!

I won’t bore you with a recap of 2010, in part because I don’t want to try to figure out what happened each month of last year and in part because I didn’t have this blog until the later part of the year, but I will share with you my goals for 2011.

IMG_7068

I wrote down my goals and made an inspiration board (Thanks for the push, Gina!) to constantly remind me of what I have set out to accomplish this year.

So…without further ado, here are my goals for 2011:

IMG_7069

Health and Fitness

  • Train for and complete my first half marathon. – Christopher and I have our sights set on the Oshkosh Half Marathon in Oshkosh on April 17. I created a training plan and wrote the planned workouts and runs on our calendar to keep us on track and keep us motivated.
  • Break my 5K PR. – I figure at least one or two 5Ks will be part of my shenanigans in the coming months, and I figure speedwork in preparation for the half will allow me to break my personal record of 32:16 set at the YWCA Pancake Run in Janesville on June 19.
  • Strength train to banish fat and build muscle. – I do not mix up my workouts very often. I mostly do cardio and occasionally lift weights. I need to commit to strength training at least twice a week. I cut out a bunch of plans from Self magazine; I own the 30 Day Shred DVD; and I have several strength workouts saved on my Netflix instant queue.
  • Learn to do a real push-up. – I have no upper body strength, but I plan to gain some soon. I bet I can do a real push-up—not a girly push-up—if I work at it.
  • Try hot yoga and practice general yoga more often. – I have been dying to try hot yoga and yearning to incorporate general yoga into my health and fitness routine. I think it would help me improve my running and be my calmest self. I bought a pass to a new hot yoga studio in Grand Rapids through Groupon, and I got a gift certificate to a yoga studio in Muskegon for Christmas. I have no excuse not to give it a whirl.

IMG_7070

Food and Cooking

  • Eat out no more than once a week. – We are getting a lot better at this, but I want to really cut back and make eating out something we look forward to, something we consider a treat.
  • Eat meatless at least once a week. – We are getting really good at this, not because we planned it but because I like to cook vegetarian recipes. I want to make a conscious effort to eat meatless meals more often; I feel better and healthier as a result.
  • Curb my sweet tooth. – I struggle so much with sweets. I have a mean sweet tooth, and I am like a bull in a China shop around cookies, cake, candy—you name it, and I will eat it. I would like sweets to be something I look forward to for special occasions or jobs well done, not simply as an after-dinner snack.
  • Be more confident in the kitchen. – I love cooking and baking, and I am willing to try just about anything, but I want to test my limits and create more of my own recipes. My blog has helped me start to explore my abilities, and it will continue to motivate me to get creative. I want to take cooking classes and read cookbooks but also just experiment to be the best and most well-rounded cook I can be.
  • Start and maintain an herb garden on our balcony. – I love fresh herbs, but I hate paying a hefty sum for them. I will find planters that hang over our balcony railing and plant parsley, basil and oregano to use in my kitchen. And I hopefully will not kill them!

IMG_7071

Personal

  • Read at least one book a month. – I spend far too much time sitting on the couch, watching television or playing on the Internet. I am jealous of people who read, but I gave it up when I was in school and when I was a reporter because I read all day, every day; I was burned out on reading after all of that. I have a stack of books calling my name, and I will crack them open once and for all…starting with the book I’ve been working on since the summer.
  • Spend less money on frivolous things, pay off my credit-card debt and start to save money for a house. – I have gotten a lot better about this since I left my full-time job for a part-time one and left my former, bigger paycheck for a smaller one, but I know I can do better.
  • Go to church at least once a month. – I used to go to church almost every Sunday until college, and I miss it now. Christopher and I have gone to church together a few times, trying both Catholic and Lutheran churches but never finding one we could call home. I believe you still can be a spiritual, faithful person without attending church regularly, but I believe you can find something special in participating in group worship. I want to improve my relationship with God.
  • Volunteer with Girls on the Run as a coach. – I have a lot of free time on my hands now, and I have found a lot of ways to fill it, but I know I can give my time to people who would benefit from it. I already signed up to be a coach with the local Girls on the Run chapter, and I start in February. I can’t wait!
  • Get married, go on our honeymoon and plan our future. – I know this seems like a cop-out goal, but I really want to get through the wedding and honeymoon not only so I can regain my sanity, but also so Christopher and I can start to plan our future. We want to have children. We want to own a home. We want to settle down somewhere. But we have a lot to figure out before we can set things in motion.

IMG_7072

Blog

  • Build a following. – I have met (online and in real life) some wonderful people through my blog, but I want to meet more. I want more comments. I want more questions. I want to create something sustainable. I welcome any and all suggestions…
  • Incorporate videos. – I think videos would help make my blog more interesting, and I think cooking and baking lend themselves well to how-to videos, so I hope to film a few in the coming months. First up? Crepes. (Amy, I’m lookin’ at you!)
  • Take more and better pictures. – I rely heavily on my little point-and-shoot digital camera, and I probably could do a heck of a lot better job with it. I often have Christopher’s nice dSLR camera at my disposal, but I don’t really know how to use it. I hope he’ll teach me a bit, and I hope to play around with setting up creative shots and capturing the beauty that is the world around me.

Well, that’s it! I have a big year ahead, don’t I? I fully expect to accomplish many of these goals, but I also expect to fall short of several of them. Goals are supposed to be a mix of things you know you can do and things you think you can do.

What are some of your goals for the year?

13 Responses to “Goals for 2011”

  1. mindy @ just a one girl revolution. January 1, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    Those are great goals! Here’s to an epic year!

    • kaylabee18 January 3, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Cheers, lady! Let’s seize 2011 by the horns!

  2. MarciaG January 1, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Great goals!
    I just finished out my groupon with the same studio you speak of in E.Grand Rapids. I LOVED it. I hope they do another deal soon….. 🙂
    I look forward to following your blog!
    Marcia

    • kaylabee18 January 3, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Excellent. I’ve heard nothing but good about that place, so I’m excited to get going — I think in February!

      Thanks for the comment! I’ll check out our blog, too!

  3. Lisa January 2, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    This is a great organized way to identify your goals (one I have yet to accomplish). It sounds like you will have a fab and eventful year 🙂

    I haven’t defined my goals yet, but I’m hoping Gina’s inspiration board post will help me to get started.

    Happy New Year!
    ~Lisa

    • kaylabee18 January 3, 2011 at 11:17 am #

      Thanks, Lisa! I hope to have a great year, too. It certainly won’t be without its memories, but a wedding has a way of doing that. Take care!

  4. Peggy January 3, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    You’ve definitely got some great goals that are absolutely achievable!

  5. Dan January 3, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    One thing I like about eating vegetarian is that it cuts your grocery bills, too, since proteins tend to be the most expensive items.

    I have been meaning to cut my soda intake, so I’m hoping to continue those efforts.

    • Kayla January 3, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

      It’s so true. I’ve really come to love some of our meatless meals. 😉

      Good luck on the soda. It’s a hard habit to break, but I’ve been off soda for a long time, and I really feel a lot better. My dentist agrees.

  6. andionthego January 3, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I love your goals, darling. especially the ‘get married and plan our future’ one. totally NOT a cop-out, either. did you make that inspiration board in the pictures?

    (I do think there should be a ‘spend more time with Andi’ goal, but that’s just me. haha.)

    • Kayla January 3, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      LOL I’m glad you didn’t think that was lame. It’s an important one.

      I did make that board. I encourage you to do the same if you have some down time; it’s a fun exercise.

      Oh, and spending more time with you is definitely on the short-term goals list. Hehe. Let’s plan something soon, shall we?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Praiseworthy: Celebrity chefs’ resolutions « Musings of a Midwestern Girl - January 3, 2011

    […] of a Midwestern Girl Adventures in cooking, running and living in the Midwest « Goals for 2011 Praiseworthy: Celebrity chefs’ resolutions January 3, 2011 I spied this link on The […]

Leave a Reply

