Fabulous frittata

2 Dec

It doesn’t matter what the calendar says…

DSCN1207

It matters what the snow says.

I wanted to go for a run this afternoon, but I decided against it because it was cold, snowing and probably slippery. I was freezing just taking the dog out to do his business. I knew I would keep freezing even going a couple miles around the neighborhood.

I shredded instead.

DSCN1217

I bought the “30-Day Shred” DVD a few months ago. I think it was on sale or around $10 or something. I let it sit on the DVD rack or TV stand since then, intending to pick a day to start it and go. I never did that.

DSCN1219

I did Level 1, the easiest of the three 20-ish-minute workouts consisting of a short warm-up, three 6-minute circuits of strength, cardio and abs and a short cool-down. I was surprised how easy the exercises were, but I was not surprised how winded and worn out I was. I liked the video as an alternative to running, but I really wish I could have gone running. I have a half marathon to train for after all… I see myself picking this up as an official 30-day challenge closer to the wedding.

I made an easy and delicious frittata—essentially, a baked omelet—for dinner and served a slice of homemade whole-wheat bread with it.

DSCN1232

Here’s the recipe:

4 eggs

1/2 cup skim milk

4 slices turkey bacon, chopped and cooked until almost crispy

1 1/4 cups green beans, roasted and chopped

4 ounces shredded smoked gouda cheese

Salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and spray a nonstick, oven-safe skillet; baking dish or springform pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Cook bacon and set aside. Roast green beans, chop and set aside. Shred cheese and set aside.

DSCN1222

DSCN1226

Whisk together eggs, milk and salt and pepper to taste.

DSCN1225

Add in bacon, green beans and cheese and whisk until all ingredients are incorporated. Pour mixture into pan and make sure to evenly distribute bacon, green beans and cheese among egg mixture.

DSCN1229

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until eggs are cooked and top is golden brown. Slide frittata onto cutting board and cut into four wedges. Serve warm.

DSCN1231

I love the idea of a frittata because it can be made with dozens of combinations of ingredients (ham, cheese and spinach; spinach, mushrooms and feta cheese; sausage, tomatoes and mozzarella cheese) and it can be eaten for breakfast, lunch or dinner with fresh fruit, a green salad or a hunk of bread. Yum!

I cleaned the apartment and worked on Christmas presents (I promise to blog about them soon; I just don’t want anyone *cough* Christopher *cough* Mom *cough* Dad *cough* to find out what they’re getting.) and started a small fire… Oops. I left a piece of paper and a coupon too close to some votive candles, they caught on fire and I spent 10 minutes cleaning up the mess, including rescuing some Christmas CDs from their melted cases. Yikes!

I have an early meeting tomorrow, so I better get to bed.

Good night!

2 Responses to “Fabulous frittata”

  1. Meredith December 3, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    I’m dismally behind on your blog (shame!) but I have to say that the bread you baked looks amazing. I bake my own bread too and there is nothing better! Also, I’m glad to hear your review of the Shred because I’m contemplating getting it for when I’m at my mom’s house for a couple weeks over Christmas and won’t have access to a gym (her gym charges for guests!!). I’ll definitely have to get it, now!

    • kaylabee18 December 3, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      Thanks, Mere. 🙂

      I would give the Shred a try — especially if you need a good, quick workout away from home for little to no cost. A DVD is only $10 or $15, and I felt worked out. I’m sore today, in fact. 🙂 I can’t wait to get into it head on a little later down the line. I’ll warn you, though; Jillian is annoying, so you might want to mute her and blast some fun music or wear your iPod.

Leave a Reply

