Baking for my buddy

2 Nov

He’s just so darn sweet…

DSCN0891

Dexter, not Christopher… Christopher is sweet, too… Oh, crumb.

I was in a baking mood this past weekend, and I wanted to make something homemade for Pooch McDoggington (our new nickname for the lil’ guy).

I found lots of recipes for healthy, homemade dog biscuits online, and I adapted one for breath-freshening biscuits.

DSCN0900

Here’s the recipe:

2 cups whole-wheat flour

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 egg

2/3 cup milk

1/2 cup chopped fresh mint

1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and grease a baking sheet or line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Measure flour into large mixing bowl. Stir in egg and oil and mix well. Add milk and mix well again. Add chopped herbs and mix until thoroughly incorporated. Form into large ball. (I used my hands after a while. I also added a little water—maybe 2 or 3 tablespoons—because I found the dough too stiff.)

Turn out dough onto floured surface. Dust rolling pin with flour and roll out dough into a thin sheet. Cut out cookies with small cookie cutter. (I found a small dog bone-shaped cutter at the craft store for only 75 cents.) Place cookies onto greased or lined baking sheet. (You also could drop dough by rounded tablespoons onto baking sheet.) Bake for 15 to 20 minutes. Allow cookies to cool before serving or storing.

DSCN0910 (Sorry for the blurry picture. I was left with my point-and-shoot camera because Christopher left his nice camera at work.)

DSCN0904

DSCN0905

Dex loves these biscuits. I love the recipe. It’s so easy and so adaptable; I already plan on revisiting it and substituting shredded carrots and apples for the chopped herbs.

I hope you’ll try making these for your furry friend. 🙂

4 Responses to “Baking for my buddy”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd November 2, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Love it! I was missing your blog entries!

    • kaylabee18 November 3, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      I was, too, actually. I just haven’t had a heck of a lot of things to blog about and, strangely, a heck of a lot of time to blog; I’ve been trying not to spend too much time on the computer the nights Chris is home… I’ve got a post about more wedding plans in the works, though.

  2. Young Wifey November 2, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    My dog makes Christmas biscuits each year for all her doggie friends. We def need to remember our pets and treat them to homemade things as well.

Leave a Reply

