Plump pumpkin pillows

17 Oct

Oh. My. Goodness.

IMG_2633

I have had an itch to bake – and an itch to eat! – a dessert with pumpkin in it for a couple weeks. I dug out a recipe for pumpkin-chocolate chip cookies and set to work.

I got the recipe from my best friend’s stepmother. The first time I ate one of these a dozen of these cookies (with cream cheese frosting), I was hanging out on Summit Avenue in St. Paul, Minn., watching the Twin Cities Marathon. This time, I decided to health-ify the recipe, cutting back on the sugar and chocolate chips and subbing whole-wheat flour for half of the all-purpose flour.

IMG_2630

I bought a cookie scoop to better portion out the cookies. I got 79 out of this batch.

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup margarine

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 cups pumpkin

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups whole-wheat flour

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Dash salt

1 cup mini chocolate chips

In a large mixing bowl, beat the margarine, eggs and sugar until creamy, and mix in the pumpkin and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix well, using either a spoon, spatula or mixer. (I used a hand mixer, and I found it a little difficult, but I managed.) Add chocolate chips and mix until the chips are evenly distributed.

Drop by rounded tablespoons or scoops onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake in a 375-degree oven for 12-15 minutes. (I baked mine for 12, and they were perfect.) Let cool and store in an airtight container.

I love these little pumpkin pillows. These cookies are light and fluffy, yet full of flavor. These cookies also are only about 75 calories apiece!

Go ahead, you know you want to make them!

IMG_2636

I’m about to head downtown and pick up Christopher after a 14-hour bus ride from Fargo, N.D. We’re going to settle in for football and apple-pumpkin-squash soup (which I’ll post about later) and quality snuggle-on-the-couch time.

908(Source)

Geaux Saints!

6 Responses to “Plump pumpkin pillows”

  1. Karin (mom) Herd October 17, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    The cookies look and sound really good!

    • kaylabee18 October 21, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

      Thanks. I think you’d like ’em. Chris and I have taken to eating them with a blob of whipped cream on top — like a mini pumpkin pie…er…cookie.

  2. Joslyn @ missfitbliss October 18, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Those cookies look delicious! You know I’ve honestly never had pumpkin combined with the flavor of chocolate before! I must try!

  3. lindsay October 18, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    oh how cute are these!!? I love baking anything minature, haha.
    And pumpkin, well, just can’t get enough these days!

    • kaylabee18 October 21, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

      My mom loves anything miniature, too. LOL Seriously though, try those cookies. They are too easy and delicious to pass up!

Leave a Reply

